ISLAMABAD - Prime Minister Mohammad Nawaz Shairf would chair the ‘National Consultative Conference of 1000+ Stakeholders on Pakistan Vision 2025 and 11th Five Year Plan 2013-18’ on November 22, 2013 at Jinnah Convention Centre, Islamabad.
Earlier, the meeting was scheduled on October 26, which was postponed due to the reasons known to the Ministry of Planning, Development and Reforms. A meeting was held today (Thursday) in the Ministry of Planning, Development and Reforms, under the chairmanship of Federal Minister for Planning, Development and Reforms, Prof Ahsan Iqbal to review the arrangements of the Conference .
Earlier, the Ministry had constituted six Committees to manage and look after different activities of the Conference . These committees include Invitation Coordination Committee, Media Committee, Documentation and Report Writing Committee, Protocol and Security Committee, Venue Management Committee, and Finance and Food/Tea Committee. Dr. Muhammad Afzal, Chief (Plan Coord) has been made overall coordinator for all these committees, and Committee Room-I, Ministry of Planning, Development and Reforms on First Floor, P Block, Pak Secretariat, Islamabad has been declared Secretariat of the said conference
Chairing the second meeting of all these committees for the 1000+ Stakeholders Conference on 22 November 2013, federal minister Prof Ahsan Iqbal said, “This is first time that all major stakeholders are being consulted and taken on board for long term economic planning in the country. The new planning approach seeks to create public-private-academia partnership for transforming Pakistan’s economy into an engine of growth through collaborative action”.  The Minister explained, “Movers and shakers from all sectors will be invited along with representatives of political parties. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif seeks to create a national consensus on future direction of country’s economy to ensure continuity in policies and stability.” He further added, “Planning Commission will play its role as development think tank to transform Pakistan’s hidden opportunities into our national asset and strength”.
The first meeting of all the six committees was held on 28 July 2013, in which Prof Ahsan Iqbal directed to constitute groups in the light of areas enshrined in Pakistan Vision 2025 and 11th Five-Year Plan 2013-18.  Consequently, 38 groups have been constituted. These groups include, Agriculture & Food Security (Livestock Fisheries, Horticulture), Civil Service Reforms , Exports, Inclusive Growth, Law and Order / Justice, Poverty Alleviation, Services Sector, Tourism, Transportation (Rail, Road, Air, Sea), Water, Art, Culture &  Sports, Employment & Job Creation, Housing & Physical Planning, Investments & Private Sector Development, Mass Media, Role of Federation in Post-Devolution Era, Science & Technology, Textile, PSEs, Youth, Banking & Financial Services Secto, Education, Health & Population , Information Technology/Data, Minerals & Natural Resources, Religious & Interfaith Harmony, SMEs, Taxation, Urban Development/ Smart Cities, Climate, Eco System & Forests, Energy, Infrastructure, Industry, Macroeconomic Framework, Gender/Women Development, Small Business Development, Telecommunications, Values and Ethics.