Karachi -

The constituency of NA-250 and its two corresponding constituencies of provincial assembly of Sindh – PS-112 and PS-113 – will undergo a revote under heightened supervision of additional election staff amid tight security measures today (Sunday).
At least 86,000 registered voters will cast their vote, while ballot papers and election registers from electoral body's office in Karachi have already reached 43 polling stations, results of which were disputed by MQM and PTI on May 11. The polling stations will work under shadow of heavy deployment of troops.
Repolling will be supervised by additional 110 election officers called from Balochistan by the Election Commission of Pakistan after it rejected MQM’s plea for re-election in the entire constituency following protests over vote-rigging, but upheld the verdict of re-election to 43 polling stations.
Nevertheless, chances are bright for election candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf with MQM and Jamaat-e-Islami out of electoral test on the national and provincial assembly seats.
A total of 175,000 ballot papers – white ones for national assembly and green for provincial assembly candidates – have been printed and dispatched to polling stations. To ensure order and security, a heavy contingent of law-enforcement agencies as well as army, and Rangers is being deployed at polling stations in Defence, Clifton, Shireen Jinnah Colony, Delhi Colony and other areas.
According to details, at least 2,575 police officials and more than 800 army and Rangers personnel have been deployed at polling stations, as no polling station was declared sensitive by the election commission and the provincial government.
According to polling-wise security plan, at least 22 police officials and six to eight personnel each of army and Rangers would be present at each polling station. Security officials would remain present at polling stations until count ends and results are announced.
As MQM candidate Khushbakht Shujat had won election on NA-250 in unofficial results with only 400 votes against her rival candidate Arif Alvi of PTI, but candidate did not accept the results.
The PTI candidate before end of voting had alleged rigging by MQM. Workers of PTI started protests with sit-ins in the area and other parts of the city.
The election commission took notice and announced re-polling on 43 polling stations, as MQM submitted an application with demand of re-election on the national assembly and two provincial assembly constituencies, which was rejected by the ECP.
The MQM late on Friday night, while rejecting ECP’s decision announced to boycott re-vote. The Jamaat-e-Islami had already boycotted election, demanding re-election on all constituencies of the city.
In absence of MQM, Jamaat-e-Islami candidates, only PTI’s Dr Arif Alvi and PPP’s Rashid Rabbani are in election race in NA-250, while PPP’s Karmullah Waqasi and PTI’s Khuram Sher Zaman are contesting on PS-112 as MQM’s Hafiz Sohail is out.
Similarly, PPP’s Asad Zubairi and PTI’s Samar Ali Khan are in electoral test on PS-113 as MQM’s Ali Rashid is not taking part. Muttahida Wahadul Muslameen candidate for NA250 also boycotted re-polling.