LAHORE – Pakistan Peoples Party leader Aitzaz Ahsan and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader Ishaq Dar have been elected unopposed Senators from Punjab.
According to the notification issued by Election Commission on Monday, the above said leaders have been elected Senators on technocrat seats. Similarly, PML-N leader Kamran Michael has also been elected Senator from Punjab on minority seat.
Meanwhile, Mohsin Leghari belonging to PML-Q has filed an appeal in the EC against rejection of his candidature by the Commission on the grounds that Leghari has not attached copy of the party ticket with his nomination papers for the Senate. 
Leghari in his appeal has taken the plea that Senate Act did not prohibit him from contesting Senate polls while being member of a political party and therefore it could not ask for party ticket. 
He claimed that EC requires only a declaration from the candidate regarding his party affiliation, which he provided in his nomination papers.