MELBOURNE  - Uncapped George Bailey was Monday named skipper of a revamped Australian squad for next month's Twenty20 internationals against India as selectors looked towards September's T20 world cup.
Bailey replaces Cameron White, who has been dropped from the 14-man squad, while veteran spinner Brad Hogg returns to international cricket just weeks short of his 41st birthday. Chief selector John Inverarity said Australia 's T20 team, currently ranked fifth in the world, needed changes. "The panel has been discussing this T20 squad for about six weeks and has unanimously decided on the squad, the captain and the vice-captain," he said. "The selectors consider this to be a very well-balanced T20 squad and look forward to the team acquitting itself very well."
Inverarity said with this in mind the selectors had chosen Bailey to lead the new-look team. "The panel unanimously favoured George Bailey as captain of the T20 team," he said. "George is a very good T20 player with a sound record. He is widely respected and regarded as an outstanding captain, having had sustained success in this role."
Inverarity said selectors were looking to the new leadership of coach Mickey Arthur, Bailey and opening batsman David Warner to drive the T20 team. The squad contains experienced bowlers Brett Lee and Hogg, while Shane Watson was not considered for selection as he regains full match fitness after recent injuries.
Australia take on India in T20 internationals at Sydney Olympic Park on February 1 and at the Melbourne Cricket Ground two days later. The ICC World Twenty20 takes place in Sri Lanka, starting in September.
AUSTRALIA : George Bailey (capt), David Warner (vice-capt), Travis Birt, Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Brett Lee, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, Matthew Wade.