The Election Commission of Pakistan Sunday appointed Justice (retd) Mir Hazar Khan Khoso as the Caretaker Prime Minister of Pakistan out of four nominees coming from both the opposition and now-dissolved government. “We discussed frankly and openly all names forwarded for the caretaker prime minister and have decided Justice (retd) Mir Hazar Khan Khoso as the Caretaker Prime Minister,” said Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Fakhruddin G. Ibrahim talking to media after the commission’s second sitting on the matter held under his chair.
For the caretaker prime minister, the then government had suggested Justice (retd) Mir Hazar Khan Khoso and Dr Ishrat Hussain while the opposition had proposed Justice (retd) Nasir Aslam Zahid and Rasool Bux Palejo for the prime ministerial slot.
Besides Chief Election Commissioner, the commission meeting was attended by all four commission members including Justice (retd) Muhammad Roshan, Justice (retd) Riaz Kiyani, Justice (retd) Shahzad Akbar Khan and Justice (retd) Fazal-ur-Rehman besides Secretary Election Commission and other officials concerned.
The names of the caretaker prime minister was decided in the second sitting as first sitting held on Saturday had ended indecisive owing to the absence of Member Sindh Justice (retd) Muhammad Roshan.
The CEC said the name of caretaker prime minister has been decided with majority vote as Member Punjab Justice (retd) Riaz Kiyani opposed the same.
The Chief Election Commissioner said parliamentary committee had forwarded four names to the ECP that followed the deliberations by the Commission.
“We could not decide the matter during first meeting as our Sindh Member Justice (retd) Muhammad Roshan could not arrive,” the CEC told media.
He said now the name of the caretaker PM would be forwarded to the relevant quarter for notification.
Fakhruddin G Ibrahim said the matter has been decided patiently and prudently as the caretaker prime minister had to assist the ECP for holding free and fair elections.
The matter of the caretaker prime minister was forwarded to the ECP  after the parliamentary committee, formed with sole mandate, failed to evolve consensus on a single person to be appointed as caretaker PM.
The committee, constituted by the Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida  Mirza comprised Syed Khurshid Ahmad Shah, Haji Ghulam Ahmed Bilour, Senator Farooq H.Naek, Senator Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan , Senator Pervaiz Rasheed, Khawaja Saad Rafiq, and Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan Nasar.
Mir Hazar Khan Khoso , 84, was born in village Azam Khan of district Jaffarabad of Balochistan.
He graduated from University of Sindh in 1954 and passed LL.B in 1956 from Karachi University.
Khoso was elevated as Additional Judge of Balochistan High Court in 1977  and appointed permanent judge of the said High Court in 1987.
He served as Chief Justice of Balochistan High Court from December 1989  to September 1991 when he retired in the same capacity. He was appointed as Judge of Federal Shariat Court the same year and elevated as Chief Justice of the Court in November 1992.