LAHORE - On the orders of Inspector General of Police (IGP) Punjab, Aftab Sultan, the Special Cell set up in the Operations Branch of the Central Police Office (CPO) Punjab is taking strict action against the violators of the code of conduct for the elections 2013. Punjab AIG (Operations) Ali Nasir Rizvi, who is also the in-charge of the cell, presented a report to the IGP on Friday about the action taken against the violators during the last two-weeks in 21 districts of the Punjab province.  According to the report, the Punjab police from April 12 to April 25 arrested 221 people for violating the code of conduct and registered 214 cases against the violators. The police registered 18 cases of aerial firing, 47 cases of show of weapons, 154 of illegal arms and seven cases of fireworks.  The police took action and recovered 94 pistols, 278 rifles, 26 Kalashnikovs, 14 guns, five repeaters, two pump actions, three revolvers, one mousers, I carbin, one Regal 7mm, one dagger, one Kuppa, 176 magazines and 12166 bullets from their possession. Meanwhile, on the directions of IGP, Aftab Sultan, the names of 47 focal persons and 38 media managers have been finalised for the elections 2013 all over the Punjab province. The focal persons would not only remain in touch with the district heads but also update the IGP minute to minute. The focal persons including Rai Muhammad Tahir and Ali Nasir Rizvi in the CPO, Manzoor Durrani and Rana Abdul Jabbar in Lahore, Irfan Ullah Khan in Sheikhupura, Rashid Ahmed Tahir in the Nankana district, Hassan Daniyal Bashir in Kasur, Capt (Retd) Ata Muhammad in Gujranwala, Akhtar Mahmood Gondal in Gujrat, Khadim Ali Bhinder in Hafizabad, Muhammad Nawaz Shahid in Mandi Bahauddin, Muhammad Awais Malik in Sialkot, Muhammad Zafar in Narowal, Muhammad Masood Raza in Rawalpindi, Javed Rasool in Attock, Imran Baig in Jhelum, Nasir Ali Khan in Chakwal, Imtiaz Sarwar in Sargodha, Abdullah Waheed Khan in Khushab, Mudassar Hanif Bhatti in Mianwali, Sajjad Muhammad Khan in Bhakkar, Muhammad Shahzad Aliyana in Faisalabad region, Imran Kashur in Faisalabad district, Mehtab Ahmed in Toba Tek Singh, Muhammad Ashraf in Jhang, Shamsul Haq in Chiniot, Javed Iqbal in Multan Region, Ghulam Shabbir Jaffri in Multan district, Juratmand Khan in Lodhran, Hakeem Ali Nool in Khanewal, Abdul Majid Chishti in Vehari, Shahid Mahmood in Sahiwal, Shahzad Ghous Ahmed in Okara, Madam Shahida Noreen in Pakpattan, Tahir Mustafa in DH Khan Region, Amir Abdullah Niazi in DH Khan district, Rao Muhammad Farooq in Rajanpur, Abdul Razzaq in Muzaffargarh, Khalid Mahmood Nasir in Layyah, Jameel Akhtar in Bahawalpur, Irfan Ullah in Bahawalnagar, Tanvir Hussain in Rahim Yar Khan district. The nominated PROs include Manzoor Ahmad from Sheikhupura, Ghulam Hussain from Nankana Sahib, Sajid Ali from Kasur, Amir Waseem from Gujranwala, Asad Mahmood Cheema from Gujrat, Nayab Haider and Syed Hamid Raza from Lahore, Ghulam Rasool from Hafizabad, Muhammad Riaz from Mandibhauddin, Sabir Chattha from Sialkot, Asif Ali from Narowal, Fiyazul Haq from Rawalpindi, Javed Akhtar from Attock, Muhammad Imran Aslam from Jehlum, Nasir Ali Khan from Chakwal, Inayat Ali from Sargodha, Mudassar Hanif Bhatti from Mianwali, Zafar Hussain from Bhakkar, Muhammad Shahzad Aliyana from Faisalabad, Nasir Azeem from Toba Tek Singh, Safdar Ahmad from Jhang, Wasim Sajajd from Chiniot, Mukhtiyar Hussain Shah from Multan Region, Haji Muhammad from Multan district, M Imran from Lodhran, Saeed Ahmad from Khanewal, Farrukh Sajjad from Vehari, Imran Baig from Sahiwal, Shafqat Rasool from Okara, Abdul Malik from Pakpattan, Tahir Mustafa from DG Khan Region, Sarfraz Mahboob from DG Khan district,  Ishaq Jaan from Rajanpur, Tariq Sattar from Muzzafargarh, Muhammad Irfan Layyah, Muhammad Imran Javed from Bahawalpur, Amir Ali from Bahawalnager and Arshad Ali from Rahimyar Khan.

This news was published in The Nation newspaper. Read complete newspaper of 27-Apr-2013 here.