The federal government formally proposed three names for the slot of caretaker prime minister here on Thursday.Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf in a letter to opposition leader in the National Assembly Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan proposed the names of three potential candidates including Dr Ishrat Husain, Mir Hazar Khan Khoso and Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh from the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) side.The PM proposed the names as part of constitutional requirement for consensus on caretaker prime minister in response to a letter earlier written by the leader of the opposition. The opposition leader had already proposed the names of Justice (Retd) Shakirullah Jan, Justice (Retd) Nasir Aslam Zahid and Rasool Bux Palejo for caretaker PM post. It is expected that Prime Minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf will soon meet the opposition leader for consultations over the caretaker prime minister.If no consensus emerged on the name of one candidate for the caretaker premiership, then the matter would be referred to the parliamentary committee.Following is the text of Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf’s letter to Ch Nisar Ali Khan.“Thank you for your letter dated 11th March, 2013.Let me reiterate that we have pursued a policy of reconciliation and consensus in the country for the well being and betterment of the people of Pakistan.   I have held in-depth consultations with my allies as well as within the party in keeping with the same spirit on the names proposed by you. As a result of our consultations I propose the following three names for the office of the caretaker prime minister:1. Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh2. Dr Ishrat Hussain3. Justice (Retd) Mir Hazar Khan KhosoThe above are persons of known standing, integrity and competence. We can discuss and deliberate on the names put forward both by the government and the opposition at a mutually convenient time so that we can agree on a suitable person in line with the constitutional obligations.I look forward to an early response so that we can put a closure to the issue and move forward to set the stage for holding general elections in the country.”