LAHORE - Lahore Press Club elections were held peacefully on Sunday.

Out of 2604 eligible voters, 2028 exercised their right to vote to elect office bearers for the year 2018 during polling that started at 9:30am and continued till 6:45pm without any break on the LPC premises.

The election committee headed by senior journalist Khawar Naeem Hashmi supervised the elections for President, Senior Vice President, Vice President, Secretary, Joint Secretary, Treasurer and nine-member Governing Body.

Counting was under way when this report was filed at 9:30pm.  Though Writers and Workers panels are also contesting the election, the real contest is between Zulfiqar Ali Mehto-led Journalist Panel and Progressive Panel headed by Azam Chaudhry. The elections scheduled for December 24 were postponed due to a deadlock on the issue of new membership a few days before the polling. The Progressives-dominated Governing Body contended that it was their right to give new membership. Journalist Panel accused the Progressives of giving membership to people having nothing to do with journalism.

The election committee headed by The Nation Editor Salim Bokhari had resigned after protest by Journalist, Writers and Workers panels. The governing body constituted a new committee headed by Khawar Naeem Hashmi to supervise the polling.

Following clashes between rival groups, the polls scheduled for December 28 were also postponed. The contesting groups agreed to hold polls on December 31 after scrutiny of new membership list.