ISLAMABAD - It is an honour for COMSATS Institute of Information Technology (CIIT) that twenty-four of its faculty members from different campuses and departments have been selected for the Research Productivity Awards (2010-2011) in recognition of their research work, says a press release. Research Productivity Awards are given to active scientists by the Ministry of Science and Technology (MoST), on the recommendations of Pakistan Council of Science and Technology (PCST), on the basis of their publications in international journals and their performance, as evaluated empirically by Journal Impact Factors, Citations Index and Peer Review. Pakistan Council for Science and Technology (PCST) is a government organisation responsible to advise the Government on S&T policies and plans and suggest measures for the promotion, development and application of science and technology in the country. CIIT is a public sector institute ranked among top 6 universities in the country. It has seven fully functional campuses in the cities of Islamabad, Lahore, Wah, Abbottabad, Attock, Sahiwal, and Vehari. One important part of the three fold mission of CIIT is Research and Development and in the recent years the CIIT has made significant achievements in research and development, as many of its faculty members are writing papers in international journals. CIIT provides a healthy environment conducive for research. The faculty members from CIIT who have been selected for this award are from diversified disciplines which include Mathematics, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Physics, Engineering, Environmental Science, Biological Sciences and Chemical Sciences. The awards are categorized as A,B,C,D,E and F based on the sum of Impact Factor and Citation Index. Each member receives different cash amount respective to the category, highest being received by recipients of category A. Professor Dr Saleem Asghar from Mathematics Department of CIIT Islamabad has been honoured with a category A award which also includes an amount of Rs 350,000. Other faculty members will be receiving E, F and G category awards.