WASHINGTON- A classified document revealed that the US spy agency, National Security Agency (NSA), had been sanctioned to spy on 193 countries, including Pakistan and some international bodies and political parties.

Under a 2010 certification approved by the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court (FISA), NSA was permitted to spy on 193 foreign governments as well as foreign factions, political organizations and other entities.

The certification dictates that the agency must seek new court-approved certification to permit such surveillance under Section 702 of the FISA Amendments Act.

The list of spied nations includes two factions of foreign nations on NSA’s radar: Palestinian Authority and Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

The spared countries include Britain, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, with whom US has broad no-spying arrangements.

Greater shock is spurred with the revelation that under the FISA court certification NSA was even authorized to spy on foreign-based political organizations, including the Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) from Pakistan, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from India, the Amal movement of Lebanon, Bolivaria Continental Coordinator, Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood and the National Salvation Front.

Besides all these factions, NSA was further authorized to spy on international bodies such as the UN, the International Atomic Energy Agency, the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the Asian Development Bank and many others.