There are 181 candidates who are contesting general elections for two National Assembly and four Provincial Assembly seats in Larkana district.

These seats are NA-204, NA-205, PS-35, PS-36, PS-37 and PS-41. Total registered votes in Larkana district are 584,004 for which 500 polling stations will be established with 1,270 booths, where 500 presiding officers, 2,540 assistant presiding officers and 1,270 polling officers will perform election duties.

In all, 6,080 employees have been detailed to fulfil the election job. At present the staffers are undergoing training to conduct fair elections on May 11. Out of these 500 polling stations, 90 have been declared sensitive by Election Commission of Pakistan and 65 most sensitive. SSP Syed Pir Muhammad Shah said that they have received intelligence reports that eight candidates have threats to their lives.

Neck to neck contest is expected on all these seats as the PPP, PPP-SB, PML-N, PML-F, JUI-F and independent candidates are in the run and lobbying to win the popular support and confidence, but worst affected are the PPP tested candidates who have confined their canvassing after sunset and during darkness because of their past performance. 

Faryal Talpur (NA-207), Ghinwa Bhutto (NA-207), Ameer Bakhsh Bhutto (PS-37), Nisar Khuhro, Ayaz Soomro (NA-204), Haji Altaf Unar, Khalid Mehmood Soomro, Haji Munawwar Abbasi and his son Moazzam Abbasi, Mehtab Akbar Rashdi and her son Rafeo Rashdi, engineer Saifullah Abro (independent), Shahid Bhutto (independent), Muhammad Ali Bhutto (PPP for PS-37), Nazir Shaikh, Nazir Bughio, Aziz Jatoi, Hizbullah Bughio and others will be testing their fortune to represent the people of Larkana district.