LAHORE - The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Thursday announced the itinerary for Zimbabwe's proposed tour next month where they are all set to be the first ICC full-member nation to visit the country since the 2009 terrorist attack on Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore.  

The two Twenty20 internationals and three one-day internationals will be played here at the Gaddafi Stadium after Cricket Zimbabwe (CZ) refused to play in Karachi. The PCB and the CZ have signed the MoU, the itinerary has been agreed upon and Cricket Zimbabwe has duly intimated the ICC of its intent to visit Pakistan between May 19 and June 1, 2015.

"I am grateful to my counterpart in the CZ Wilson Manase for acceding to our request of sending a full side on a tour to Pakistan," PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan said. "This would be an auspicious moment for Pakistan cricket and I am positive that it would open doors of international cricket in Pakistan. I am indeed confident that Zimbabwe's incident-free tour shall be the harbinger of more and more associate and full member nations visiting us in the months and years to come," he added.

The Zimbabwean security team will come over to the city – the venue of all the five games being the Gaddafi Stadium here – on May 4 2015 with a mandate to review just the security arrangements put in place by the PCB with the full backing and support of the Punjab government and various provincial and federal law enforcement agencies.

“We vigorously tried to convince the Cricket Zimbabwe to split the matches between Lahore and Karachi but the visiting team’s members expressed concern on extensive travelling, and their request had to be accommodated,” said the PCB chief.

Major sides have avoided the country since militants attacked the Sri Lanka team bus in Lahore in March 2009, killing eight people and injuring seven visiting players. Bangladesh have backed out twice after initially agreeing to tour, citing security fears, though Pakistan have managed to host minor teams Afghanistan and Kenya.


May 19    Team Zimbabwe arrives

May 22    First Twenty20 international

May 24    2nd Twenty20 international

May 26    First one-day

May 29    Second one-day

May 31    Third one-day

June 1    Team Zimbabwe departs