ISLAMABAD - Pakisan's longest serving number one tennis player Aqeel Khan added yet another title to his name as he won the 5th Syed Tajammul Abbas memorial national ranking men's singles title after defeating spirited M Abid in straight sets in the final played here at Senator Dilawar Abbas PTF Tennis Complex on Saturday.

Aqeel was in fine touch and unusually started the first set on a very high note. Aqeel is well-known for starting first set on a low key, but unlike past Aqeel looked in a hurry to wrap up the final as quickly as possible. Aqeel broke the very first serve of Abid and was comfortably placed at 5-2 in the first set. He once again broke 8th serve of Abid to clinch the first set 6-2 in 35 minutes.

Aqeel got a bit relaxed in the second set which allowed Abid to hold onto his serves in the first 2 games before Aqeel changed gears and broke 5th game of Abid to make it 3-2. Then Aqeel hold onto his serve to take 4-2 lead before Abid manage to somehow hold his serve to make it 3-4. Aqeel hold onto his serve and make it 5-3. Abid failed to hold his serve on 9th game thus allowed Aqeel to clinch second set 6-3 and the final in exactly one hour and 10 minutes. Aqeel, partnering with Heera Ashiq, also won the doubles crown as Shahzad/Yasir failed to turn up for the final because of Shahzad's injury. Aqeel was awarded Rs50,000 cash for winning the men's singles title along with a shield while Abid received Rs 25,000 cash and runners up shield.

While talking to The Nation soon after the final, Aqeel termed prize money as very meager and totally disrespectful. “I was getting same prize money in late 90s and early 2000. Now things have changed since then. People before announcing the ranking event must keep in mind, they must announce substantial raise in prize money and at least prize money for the title holders should be doubled.” He said tennis equipment was very expensive and everybody in such limited resources can't afford to play tennis. He requested PTF president Salim Saifullah Khan to look into this issue of grave importance to players and ensure prize money from the next events would be given decent look.

Muzammil Murtaza won the Junior U-18 singles title as he came from behind to beat Hamza Bin Asif in a three set thriller 6-7(8), 6-3, 6-4. Muzammil got Rs12, 000 cash along with shield whereas Hamza pocketed Rs7,000,

This year a total amount of Rs 450,000 distributed amongst the winners and runner ups as prize money and daily/traveling allowances. Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada Federal Minister Inter-Provincial Coordination and Chairman PSB grace the occasion as chief guest and distributed prizes between the winner and runners up. Senator Syed Dilawar Abbas, Patron PTF, Salim Saifullah Khan President, Dr Muhammad Tahir, President KPK Tennis Association and others witness the finals and closing ceremony.