MULTAN - The activists of PML-N staged a demonstration against awarding of party ticket for PP-194 by-election to Moen Riaz Qureshi here at Chowk Daulat Gate.

Carrying water pots (lotas), over 50 protesters converged at the Chowk and shouted slogans against Moen Riaz Qureshi.

They kicked water pots, hit them with bats and demanded withdrawal of the decision.

“He (Moen Riaz) is an established turncoat who has changed at least three parties during the last few years.

He has just joined N league and awarding ticket to him is a sheer injustice with the party loyalists,” said Imran Liaqat while talking to the journalists. He led the protesters.

The PP-194 seat got vacated because of resignation of MPA Shahid Mahmood Khan, who quit the PML-N and joined the PTI along with Javed Hashmi.

At least 11 PML-N leaders including Imran Liaqat, district president Bilal Butt, Malik Anwar Ali, Faiz Rasool Rajwana, Rao Anees and Sheikh Athar Mumtaz have submitted their nomination papers for this seat and all of them had claimed to be serious contenders.

The protesters blocked the Chowk and carried out non-stop sloganeering. Imran Liaqat said on the occasion that the party leadership had made a commitment with the workers that those who rendered sacrifices during Musharraf regime would be accommodated.

“But now a turncoat is given ticket. We demand immediate cancellation of his ticket,” he added.