KARACHI – As general elections are approaching, political picture in various parts of the country is depicting an absorbing view and the situation in Sindh is not different as a close contest is expected on several seats in the province.

Khalid Mehmood Soomro of JUI-F and Amir Bakhsh Bhutto of PML-N have filed nomination papers from NA-207 Larkana, which was won by Faryal Talpur unopposed in 2008.

PML-N Sindh President Syed Ghous Ali Shah has filed his nomination papers from NA-215 Khairpur from where Nawab Wassan of the PPP and Sarkar Hussain Shah of the PML-F are also in the race from the same constituency.

Former Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah has filed his nomination papers from PS-29 Khairpur. Pir Sardaruddin Rashdi of PML-F has submitted his papers from NA-216 Khairpur where he will face PPP’s nominee Javed Shah.

Sibghatullah Rashidi, Pir Pagara, is not contesting elections from any constituency. 

PPPP President Makhdoom Amin Fahim filed his nomination papers at NA-218 Matiari. His political future seems murky because of the cases pending against him.

National Assembly Speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza and her spouse Dr Zulfikar Mirza have submitted their nomination papers from NA-225 Badin while their son Hasnain Mirza will contest for PS-57 Badin. NPP Chairman Ghulam Murtaza Jatoi has filed his nomination papers from NA-211 Naushehro Feroz.

Former federal minister Syed Naveed Qamar has filed his nomination forms from NA-222 Tando Muhammad Khan.

Shah Mehmood Qureshi, former foreign minister and spiritual leader of Ghousia Jamaat, has submitted his nomination papers on two National Assembly seats – NA-228 Umerkot and NA-230 Tharparkar.           

Former Sindh chief minister Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim is also contesting for NA-230.

Owais Muzaffar Tappi, foster brother of President Asif Ali Zardari, is a contender at PS-88 Ghorabari, Thatta.

Syed Jalal Mehmood Shah, chief of Sindh United Party, has submitted his nomination papers from PS-44 Jamshoro.

MQM Deputy Convener Dr Farooq Sattar is contesting for A-249 Karachi.

Former president Gen (r) Pervez Musharraf filed his nomination papers from NA-250 where Dr Fauzia Siddiqui, sister of Dr Afia Siddiqui, also filed her nomination.

Salim Zia of the PML-N and former Karachi Nazim Naimatullah Khan have also filed their nomination papers from the same constituency.

For the first time, MQM-Haqiqi Chairman Afaq Ahmed has filed his nomination papers on two national assembly seats -- NA 251 Jamshed Twon and NA-255 Landhi.

Jamaat-e-Islami Sindh Naib Amir Asadullah Bhutto has filed nomination papers from NA-253 Karachi.