ISLAMABAD  - Supreme Court has refused to delete the names of former Parliamentarians holding dual nationality from disqualified members list and directed them to resort to respective forum.

A three-member bench of Supreme Court presided over by the Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry resumed the hearing of dual nationality case.

Wasim Sajjad and some other lawyers appeared in the court on behalf of petitioner Mehmood Akhtar Naqvi and some other former law makers.

The dual nationality holding former Parliamentarians from MQM were not present in the court nor any counsel represented them.

The court was told that Sabin Rizvi and Donia Aziz were holding dual nationality by birth and this citizenship was awarded to them due to their children.

Showing the book of the Constitution to the court, petitioner Mehmood Akhtar Naqvi said that dual nationality holders were not entitled to contest elections under Article 62 and 63 of the Constitution.

Four former Parliamentarians including Sabin Rizvi, Araish Kumar, Arif Aziz and Donia Aziz admitted before the court that they hold dual citizenship and they filed their replies.

The court issued notices to former 11 members of Parliament for appearing before the court and filing replies and adjourned the hearing till April 11th.

The former Parliamentarians who were issued notices include Haider Abbas Rizvi, Tayyab Hussain, Fouzia Ejaz, Nadim Ehsan, Askari Taqvi, Raza Haroon, Fouzia Asghar, Sehr Ali Javed, Dr Asim, Mehmood Ali Shah and Abdul Moid Siddiqui.