DHAKA-Pre-tournament favourites Australia finished their unimpressive World Twenty20 campaign with a comfortable seven-wicket win over Bangladesh in Dhaka on Tuesday.

Openers Aaron Finch scored a 45-ball 71 and David Warner knocked a fiery 35-ball 48 to help Australia chase down a 154-run target in 17.3 overs in the Super-10 Group two match. Australia and hosts Bangladesh had lost their first three matches and were playing for pride in a meaningless match with no bearing on semi-final positions. Finch and Warner put on a solid 98-run opening wicket stand by the 12th over to quash any hopes of a win for Bangladesh at a packed Sher-e-Bangla stadium.

Finch smashed four sixes and seven boundaries before he was bowled by paceman Al-Amin Hossain who finished with 2-30. Finch was also ruthless, hitting three sixes and five boundaries before Hossain bowled him with a beautiful delivery. Cameron White, who made 18 not out, hit a four and a six to seal the victory.

Earlier Bangladesh, who batted after winning the toss, were helped to 153-5 by Shakib Al Hasan's 52-ball 66 for his fourth Twenty20 fifty -- the first from any Bangladeshi batsman in the tournament. Shakib added 112 for the third wicket with skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (47) in a much improved batting display by the home team. The duo created a new Bangladesh record for the third wicket in all Twenty20 internationals, beating the 109-run stand set by Aftab Ahmed and Mohammad Ashraful against the West Indies at Johannesburg in the 2007 World Twenty20.

Bangladesh lost openers Anamul Haque (nought) and Tamim Iqbal (five) in paceman Nathan Coulter-Nile's first two overs, leaving the repair work to the two most senior players of the team. Coulter-Nile was the pick of Australian bowlers with 2-17. Shakib hit five boundaries and three sixes before he fell to a brilliant catch by Glenn Maxwell off Doug Bollinger.

Rahim matched his illustrious partner as he smashed five boundaries and a six off just 36 balls, before he holed out off Shane Watson in the 17th over. India have already qualified for the semi-finals from this group while Pakistan and the West Indies meet in the last match later Tuesday to decide the second semi-final spot. South Africa, who meet India in the second semi-final on Friday, and Sri Lanka have advanced to the last four from Group one.



Tamim Iqbal c Bollinger b Coulter-Nile    5

Anamul Haque c Watson b Coulter-Nile    0

Shakib Al Hasan c Maxwell b Bollinger    66

Mushfiqur Rahim c Maxwell b Watson    47

M Mahmudullah not out    6

Nasir Hossain b Starc    14

EXTRAS: (b2, lb4, w7, nb2)    15

TOTAL: (for five wickets, 20 overs)    153

FOW: 1-4, 2-12, 3-124, 4-133, 5-153

BOWLING: Starc 4-0-25-1, Coulter-Nile 3-0-17-2, Bollinger 4-0-31-1, Watson 4-0-25-1, Maxwell 3-0-32-0, Christian 2-0-17-0.


A Finch c Nasir b Al Amin    71

D Warner b Al Amin    48

C White not out    18

G Maxwell b Taskin    5

G Bailey not out    11

EXTRAS: (lb3, w2)    5

TOTAL: (for 3 wickets, 17.3 overs)    158

FOW: 1-98, 2-135, 3-147

BOWLING: Gazi 4-0-35-0, Al Amin 3.3-0-30-2, Shakib 3-0-36-0, Taskin 4-0-24-1, Razzak 2-0-16-0, Mominul 1-0-14-0

TOSS: Bangladesh

UMPIRES: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Marais Erasmus (RSA)

TV UMPIRE: Ian Gould (ENG)

MATCH REFEREE: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)



K Perera c Ronchi b Boult    16

T Dillshan c Ronchi b Boult    8

M Jayawardene b N. McCullum    25

K Sangakkara c Anderson b Boult    4

L Thirimanne c Guptill b Neesham    20

A Mathews c Ronchi b McClenaghan    6

T Perera c Williamson b Mills    16

N Kulasekara c N McCullum b McClenaghan    0

S Senanayake c Williamson b Neesham    17

R Herath not out    1

L Malinga b Neesham    0

EXTRAS: (lb2, nb1, w3)    6

TOTAL: (all out; 19.2 overs)    119

FOW: 1-20, 2-29, 3-35, 4-65, 5-81, 6-85, 7-92, 8-116, 9-119

BOWLING: Mills 4-0-30-1, Boult 4-0-20-3, Anderson 3-0-13-0, McClenaghan 4-0-24-2, Neesham 2.2-0-22-3, N McCullum 2-0-8-1


M Guptill run out    5

K Williamson run out    42

B McCullum st Sangakkara b Herath    0

R Taylor lbw b Herath    0

J Neesham b Herath    0

L Ronchi lbw b Herath    2

N McCullum c Mathews b Senanayake    2

K Mills lbw b Senanayake    4

T Boult c Jayawardene b Herath    3

M McClenaghan not out    0

Corey Anderson injured out

EXTRAS: (w2)    2

TOTAL: (all out; 15.3 overs)    60

FOW: 1-18, 2-18, 3-23, 4-23, 5-29, 6-33, 7-51, 8-60, 9-60

BOWLING: Kulasekara 3-0-15-0, Mathews 4-0-26-0, Herath 3.3-2-3-5, Malinga 2-0-13-0, Senanayake 3-0-3-2

TOSS: New Zealand

UMPIRES: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV UMPIRE: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)