LAHORE - Dr Nadeem Mukhtar and Sheraz Saleem were elected as president and secretary of the Punjab Squash Association in the annual general council meeting of the body held here on Thursday.

Out of nine zones/divisions, eight attended the meeting which elected the new office-bearers for a next term of four years. The participants of the meeting included outgoing the PSA president Malik Amjad Ali Noon, secretary Sheraz Saleem, senior vice president Mian Fazal Haq, vice presidents Karamat Ullah Chaudhary, Sohail Khan and Tariq Farooq Rana, treasurer M Mansoor and zonal representatives of Punjab Naeem Dastaghir and Khan Asif Khan.

PSF secretary Group Captain Amir Nawaz and Punjab Olympics Association’s (PbOA) Waqar Ali and Tayyab Sohail also attended the meeting as observers. The newly-elected office-holders of the PSA include president Dr Nadeem Mukhtar, secretary Sheraz Saleem, treasurer Tariq Sadiq Malik, senior vice president Sohail Khan, vice presidents Mian Fazal Haq, Omar Saeed, Imran Mukhtar Ch, Tariq Farooq and M Mansoor. PSA secretary Sheraz Saleem said a seven-member executive committee would chose the newly-elected members. “Tributes were paid to outgoing president Malik Amjad Ali Noon for his services and contribution for uplifting squash,” he said. Sheraz said as per order of the Lahore High Court (LHC), the house unanimously approved holding of the PSA elections, which were conducted by the election commission comprising LCCI senior vice president Mian Noman Kabeer and PbOA’s Waqar Ali.

After his election as PSA chief, Dr Nadeem said collective efforts would be made for overall development of the game by evolving a comprehensive activity plan across the province. "The future of squash is very bright in Pakistan. We will make efforts to identify new talent and our aim is to promote squash in all parts of Punjab,” he asserted. He thanked all the zonal chiefs for their support.