ISLAMABAD - Young bowling sensation Sardar Ahmer Abbas Saldera became the masters singles champion of the 9th National Tenpin Bowling Championship 2016 here at Leisure City Bowling Club on late Sunday night.

The four-way final round played on three games format started with Ali Surya, Fazail Mania, Saddaqat Ali and Ahmer. Ahmer (189.7) stamped his authority and managed to finish as winner while Fazil Mania (185.7) settled for second place, Ali Surya (157.3) third and Saddaqat Ali fourth. Sadaqat Ali won the amateur category with the total average score of 189.5, while Waqar Abbasi was second (181.5) and Ali Raza third (166.5). Nasir M Dar won the deaf category with the average score of 164.

The media event title was clinched by RISJA president Mohsin Ali (126 pins), while Syed Sammer Abbas (114 pins) earned second place and Ayaz Akbar (111 pins) third.

Zafar Iqbal and Ashiq Ali gave locals something to cheer as they won the doubles final by scoring 711 pins with the total average of 179, while Saqib Shehzad and Ali Shah also from Islamabad secured second and Aleem Aga and Daniyal Shah from Karachi got third.

In master trios category, five teams participated. Islamabad team comprising Ijaz ur Rehman, Ashiq Ali and Zafar Iqbal got 1,046 total score with average of 174.3 to secure first position, Karachi team of Ali Surya, Fazil Maniya and Khawaja Ahmed finished second (1,035) and Afzal Ahmad, Khalid Hasimi and Sadaqat Ali got third (1,034). Karachi team consisting of Khawaja Ahmed, Sadaqat Ali, Ali Surya and Fazil Mania won the title by scoring 2,174 points with the total average of 181.2 while compatriots Aleem Agha, Ahmer Abbas, Zahid Mehmood and Daniyal secured second with 1,975 points with the total average of 164.6. Former provincial minister Mian Iftikhar Hussain was the chief guest and presented trophy and Rs 100,000 cash to Sardar Ahmer for winning the masters singles title and also distributed attractive cash awards to the winners of other categories. A total of Rs 1 million were distributed among the players along with trophies and medals.