ISLAMABAD - It has been five months but the National Assembly website has yet to update the disqualification status of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

In the sub-section of the Prime Ministers under history section, the portfolio of former Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gillani, however, contains disqualification details.

“Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani (disqualified by the Supreme Court order on 19-06-2012),” the website stated.

Yousaf Raza Gillani was sent home by the Supreme Court in 2012, for contempt of court in the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) implementation case.

The court had convicted Gillani during the announcement of a verdict in the contempt proceedings against him and sentenced him till the rising of court.

The two-page charge sheet said that the Prime Minister had violated Article 204 of the Constitution by not writing a letter to the Swiss authorities to probe money laundering cases against PPP Chief Asif Ali Zardari, as ordered by the court.

With tenure from March 25, 2008 to April 25, 2012 he is considered one of the longest serving Prime Ministers. Liaqyat Ali Khan remained the Prime Minister from August 15, 1947 to October 16, 1951.

The website contains the tenures of Sharifs four times and his last entry says: “Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Tenure: 05-06-2013 to 28-07-2017”.

Interestingly, the name of Nawaz Sharif starts with the title of Mr. while the name of Gillani is without any title.

PPP stalwarts termed it a bias of Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, an MNA from NA- 122 Lahore on PML-N’s seat.

The Assembly is being run by the government and the Secretariat is not impartial, said Ali Musa Gillani, former MNA and son of former PM Yousaf Raza Gillani.

He said that the reasons for the disqualifications of Gillani were totally different from Nawaz Sharif.

He said that Gillani’s disqualification was based on contempt of Court while Nawaz Sharif was sent home on massive corruption charges.

In July last year, the Supreme Court disqualified Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif from holding public office in the Panama Papers case.

Court also ordered an Accountability Court to open references against him and his family and other respondents.

Some PPP leaders termed it a serious matter and vowed to lodge a protest.

Chaudhry Manzoor is one of the leaders who reacted strongly.

“There are two issues, one is the name of former Prime Minister Gillani with disqualification note and second is not mentioning the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif on website,” Manzoor said.

He said that the disqualification of Gillani was on the basis of contempt of court and was a symbolic consisting of a few seconds while the corruption stories of Nawaz Sharif were spread from Aqama to Panama.

We will write a letter to the National Assembly Secretariat to protest the issue, he said.

We demand that Yousaf Raza Gillani disqualification status should be removed immediately and the disqualification of Sharif should be mentioned on the website, he added.