LAHORE - The Progressive Panel has won the Lahore Press Club elections, which were held on Sunday.  The Progressive Panel grabbed President, Senior Vice President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer’s slots besides getting a clear majority in the Governing Body.

The Journalist Panel managed to secure Joint Secretary’s seat. Progressive Panel candidates managed to win seven out of nine slots in the Governing Body and the remaining two went to the Journalist Panel.  Though Writers and Workers panels also contested polls, the real contest was between archrivals Progressive and Journalist. Azam Chaudhry of the Progressive Panel won President’s slot by getting 1,089 votes. Runner up Zulfiqar Ali Mehto (Journalist) got 830 votes. Zahid Shafiq Tayyab (Writer) and Faisal Durrani (Workers) secured 47 and 33 votes, respectively.  On recently created SVP seat, Mujtaba Bajwa (Progressive) won the election by getting 1,097 votes. Qamar Zaman Bhatti (Journalist) and Babar Shah (Writers) secured 730 and 89 votes, respectively. Shakeel Saeed (Progressive) grabbed VP slot by getting 947 votes. Syed Adnan Farooq (Journalist), Sher Afzal Butt (Workers) and Shamasul Haq Qazzafi (Writers) got 785, 95 and 86 votes, respectively.  Abdul Majeed Sajid (Progressive) secured Secretary’s slot by getting 1,109 votes. Rizwan Fareed (Journalist), Syed Fatir Shah (Workers) and Tariq Shahid Satti (Writers) got 697, 99 and 63 votes, respectively.

Salik Nawaz (Journalist) was elected Joint Secretary after getting 890 votes. Huma Sadaf (Progressive), Asif Shahzad (Writers) and Zaheer Abbas Sheikh (Workers) got 840, 133 and 101 votes, respectively. Ahsan Shaukhat (Progressive) was elected Treasurer by getting 984 votes. Zahid Sherwani (Journalist), Nasir Bhatti (Writers) and Mumtaz Saleem (Workers) got 873, 64 and 34 votes, respectively. Shahnawaz Rana (775), Shahid Chaudhry (706), Ahmed Raza (702), Salman Qureshi (674), Hassan Taimur (632), Ali Sheraz (615), Abdul Ghafoor (611), Qaiser Rasheed (600) and Nawab Maqbool (595) were elected members of Governing Body.