ISLAMABAD/LAHORE Only a day after its formation by Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, the Abbottabad inquiry commission hit multiple snags, with some of the designated commission members apparently dithering over joining the high-profile investigation while the PML-N, the main opposition party, rejecting the commission altogether. The commission was constituted by the government Tuesday to probe the US unilateral operation of May 2 in Abbottabad in which Al-Qaeda chief Osama bin Laden (OBL) was reported killed and his body was purportedly taken away by the attacking US troops. The Prime Minister had announced that Justice Javed Iqbal will head the commission while other members of the commission were named Justice (retd) Fakharuddin G Ibrahim, Lt-Gen (retd) Nadeem Ahmed, former IG Police Abbas Khan and former ambassador Ashraf Jahangir Qazi. Secretary Cabinet Ms Nargis Sethi was appointed as secretary of the commission. Out of these members, at least three Wednesday excused from joining the commission forthwith. Justice (retd) Fakharuddin G Ibrahim said he would not be part of the probe since the Prime Minister did not consult him before designating his name for the high-level inquiry. He said he came to know about the commission via television. Similarly, Justice Javed Iqbal said that he would consult Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry before he could say anything about joining the commission. He said he personally had no objection to heading the commission since he considered it a national service. However, seeking consent of the Chief Justice is a compulsory administrative process, he added. Supreme Court Bar Association President Asma Jehangir had immediately objected to the nomination of Justice Javed for the commission without consulting the Chief Justice. A third member, Lieutenant General (retd) Nadeem Ahmad has been admitted to the Armed Forces Institute for Cardiac diseases (AFIC) in Rawalpindi for cardiac ailment. He is the only member of the commission who was to represent the Armed Forces. A report said that Lt-Gen (retd) Nadeem Ahmad, who stepped down from the chairmanship of the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) and earlier served as the chairman of ERRA and retired from the Army as Corps Commander Mangla, would not be available to take part in the investigation work immediately due to his medical condition and pending surgery. On the political front, PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif rejected the Abbottabad commission, saying that unilateral constitution of the commission is a disgrace to the parliament. Talking to the media after a condolence meeting with the family of Shaheed Lt Yasir Abbas, victim of the PNS Mehran attack, Nawaz said that the opposition was not consulted on the constitution of the commission. He said the parliament and the judiciary are being bypassed, adding that such tactics of the rulers tantamount to national suicide. Earlier, Nawaz said that the masses would not be left to the mercy of corrupt leadership. Talking separately to the media after a meeting with overseas party leaders in Raiwand, Nawaz Sharif said the PML-N leadership would take the masses out of the critical crises such as high prices, unemployment and deteriorating law and order. Opposition leader in the National Assembly, Chaudhry Nisar, who has already written a letter to Prime Minister Gilani on the subject, again claimed that the PM did not consult the opposition on the formation of the Abbottabad commission. Giving his reaction to the media Wednesday over the formation of the commission, Chaudhry Nisar said that the Prime Minister did not consult any political party for the formation of the commission while the parliamentary resolution was adopted by all the parties with a consensus. Chaudhry Nisar said that in his letter to the prime minister on May 18, 2011, he had suggested that the composition/modality of the commission was to be settled after consultations between Leader of the House and the Leader of the Opposition. He said he had proposed a broad-based commission including retired members of the superior judiciary and bureaucracy as well as members of the civil society. He suggested that the basic criterion for eligibility must be an unblemished and incontrovertible reputation for integrity and competence. He said he had proposed names of Justice (retd) Shafiur Rehman, Justice (retd) Nasir Aslam Zahid, Justice (retd) Fakhruddin G Ibrahim, TheNation Editor-in-Chief Majid Nizami, Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Asma Jehangir and Justice (retd) Bhagwandas. Meanwhile, Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Maula Bux Chandio, while dismissing the criticism, said that the commission was made public after consultations with the opposition. PM Gilani announced the commission after a consensus and it comprised apolitical and impartial members who would share findings of the probe with the parliamentarians, the minister added.