Though the victory of PML-N candidates for the slots of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly is writing on the wall, yet it would be an interesting contest as all the main opposition parties are set to field their own candidates for both the seats.

All the three opposition parties in the National Assembly - PPP, MQM and PTI - have decided to go for a solo flight for the contest against the PML-N candidates and the first two have already got the nomination papers for their candidates. While PTI here on Saturday announced their candidates for the slots as well as candidate for the prime minister slot.

The election of NA Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held on June 3 under Article 53 (1) through secret balloting and National Assembly Secretariat through its secretary will receive nomination papers from the candidates today (June 2) till 12 noon.

Senior PPP leader and likely Leader of Opposition in the National Assembly Khurshid Shah on Saturday also got nomination papers from the National Assembly Secretariat for the candidates of his party.

MQM has already received nomination papers to run for the slots of NA Speaker and Deputy Speaker and has requested all the opposition parties to support its candidates in the larger national interest.

Meanwhile, a meeting of the parliamentary party of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), headed by its central president Makhdoom Javed Hashmi, was held at the Parliament House that decided to field Sharyar Afridi and Munazza Hasan for the slots of Speaker and Deputy Speaker NA from PTI.

The meeting, that was attended by party’ senior leadership including Dr Arif Alvi and Dr Shireen Mazari, also decided to launch Makhdoom Javed Hashmi as the candidate for the prime minister.

In addition to that, PTI Chairman Imran Khan has decided to retain his seat of NA-56 (Rawalpindi) as he would quit his seats of NA-71 (Mianwali and NA-1 (Peshawar), says a press release issued by the PTI’s central secretariat. Similarly, Makhdoom Javed Hashmi would retain his seat of NA-149 (Multan) and vacate NA-48 (Islamabad).