THARPARKAR  -  According to unofficial results from two Tharparkar National Assembly constituencies, Pakistan People’s Party candidates have won the National Assembly seats from NA-229 and NA-230 after re-polling in some polling stations on Saturday.

Faqir Sher Muhammad won from NA-229 by securing 86,742 votes. He was followed by independent candidate Arbab who bagged 84,877 votes.

PPP’s Pir Noor Shah has won from NA-230 by securing 59,528 votes, followed by PTI’s Shah Mehmood Qureshi with 58,296 votes.

Similarly, PPP candidates won Sindh Assembly seats from PS 62 and PS-17.

PS-62 was won by PPP candidate Makhdoom Khaliq-uz-Zaman with 33,450 votes, while his PML opponent Arbab Anwar Jabbar came in second with 28,895 votes, as per unoffical results.

PS-63 was won by PPP's Dost Ali Rahimoon by 31,839 votes. PML candidate Dr Ghulam Haider Samijo came in second with 27,926 votes, as per unoffical results.

The ECP had announced the re-election as the administration had failed to conduct the election on May 11 at 47 polling stations, most were either set on fire or ransacked by miscreants belonging to rival political parties.

Repolling was conducted by the ECP at polling stations of National Assembly and provincial assembly seats in Tharparkar and Kashmore, under the supervision of the army, Rangers and police.

PPPP candidate Sardar Muqeem Khoso, who earlier lost the PS-14 seat from Jacobabad, emerged victorious after recounting at polling station No 38 on Saturday.

According to the May 11 election results, PML-N candidate Aslam Abro had earlier won the seat. Khoso, who was not satisfied with the results, moved Sindh High Court which ordered recounting at polling station No 38 set up at Government Primary School Hawaldar Brohi.

The recounting was done under the supervision of the District Returning Officer (DRO), District and Sessions Judge Jacobabad Amjad Hussain Bohio and Returning Officer Ramesh Lal.

Khoso was declared the winner after the recounting with 15,838 votes, while Abro lost with a close margin securing 15,776 votes.