LAHORE - Kardar panel, led by outgoing President Tahir Hussain Kardar, swept the Model Town Society election held here on Sunday. Tahir Hussain Kardar (1250) and Dr Tanveer Zubairi (1226) have been elected as President and Vice President respectively for next three-year term, defeating Malik Khalid Ikram (830) and Imran Ishtiaq (830). Besides, winning office-bearer slots, Kardar panel won 16 out of 20 seats of the Managing Committee, leaving far behind Khalid Ikram panel. Rana Mateen and Faiz-ur-Rehman have been elected as member Managing Committee from A Block, Tayab Ahmed Khan and Riaz-ur-Rehman from B Block, Amir Alvi and Kaleem-ur-Rehman Tirmizi from C Block, Mohammad Shoaib and Omar Shakeel from D Block, Sardar Ayaz Iqbal and Ch Zulfiqar from E Block, Iftikhar Ali Khan and MA Qadeer Khan from F Block, Dawood Bari and Zanoor Ahmad from G Block, Afzal Khan Laghari and Zafar Mehdi from H Block while Noor-ul-Huda and Naila Najam won MC seats from K Block. In J Block, Anwar Khan won MC slot while election was tied between Maqbool Elahi and Kashif Mahmood as both bagged the same number of votes. As a result, Maqbool Elahi will represent MC for the first one and a half year and Kashif Mahmood for the remaining period. About 60 candidates participated in the election, which takes place after every three years. The polling started at 9:00 am and continued without any break till 4:00 pm. The notification of the official election results would be issued on Monday (today). A three-member caretaker committee headed by Justice (r) Karamat Nazir Bhandari supervised the election process. Sardar Iqbal Hassan Moakal, ex-principal of the University Law College and Fiaz-ul-Hassan Farooqi, Joint Registrar Cooperative Societies Punjab, were other two members. MTS residents termed the election results unexpected, saying that they were expecting change in the affairs of Model Town. They said that disqualification of Sharifs and restoration of powers of the local governments had played an important role in the outcome of the MTS election. The PML-N leaders residing in Model Town were supporting Ikram panel and disqualification of top leadership caused a severe blow to otherwise an effective campaign of Khalid Ikram. Tahir Kardar, a close friend of District Nazim Mian Amer Mahmood, got huge benefits from restoration of powers of Nazims in the aftermath of disqualification of Sharifs. The residents said it was unfortunate that both the groups were banking on support from politicians while they blamed each other for having political affiliations. Tahir Kardar denied having any political affiliation, saying he had introduced exemplary development schemes and projects during his tenure. Khalid Ikram said that the election results were unexpected for the residents of Model Town. He said that his election campaign was effective and he was expecting good results.