ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif today constituted a ten-member committee to prepare the National Women Empowerment Policy.

Federal Minister Zahid Hamid has been appointed convener of the committee while Minister of State for National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination Saira Afzal Tarar, Minister of State of Information Technology Anusha Rahman, Special Assistant Khawaja Zaheer Ahmed, Ashtar Ausaf, Dr Shuzra Mansab, Shaista Pervez Malik, Ayesha Raza Farooq, Irum Bukhari, Dr Ejaz Munir and Secretary Cabinet Division Abbas are members of the committee.

The policy will be launched on the occasion of International Women’s Day on 8th March.

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister’s office has also prepared a working paper in consultation with various stakeholders and Pakistan’s Permanent Mission to the World Trade Organization to align women empowerment policy with national and international undertakings.

PM Nawaz has desired that final recommendations of the committee on the policy shall be submitted for his approval by Saturday.