KARACHI - Quetta defeated Larkana 1-0 in the opening match of the ten team Super junior hockey league here Tuesday at the HCP. Fahad scored the match winner in the third chucker. President PHF Qasim Zia and PHF Secretary Asif Bajwa were prominent among those who witnessed the competition. Before the start of the championship, the two PHF officials also held a brief media briefing in which they announced that MCB Bank is the main sponsor of the competition. About Rs10 million will be spent on hosting the championship. They announced that all the ten teams have been sold to different sponsors to raise money for meeting the expense. Other two matches which will be played late Tuesday night will be between Karachi and Lahore and Sialkot and Multan. The ten team team championship is the brain child of the present PHF set up. It is aimed at scounting new and fresh y9ung talent initially for the 2013 junior world cup and also to groom future senior national star. The championship carry a total prize bag of Rs. two million. The winner of the championship will get Rs.700, 000, the runner up Rs.500, 000 and team taking third place will receive Rs.200, 000, Best player and the best goal keeper of the championship will get Rs. 50,000.There will be man of the match award of Rs. 5000 each in all the matches of the championship which will last eighteen days. All outstation teams have been lodged at New Haji camp The PHF has named Olympian Abdul Hanif Khan as tournament director, while Khawaja Zarrar Kaleem will be the Asst. tournament director. Javed Iqbal, Dr. S. A Majid, Qadeer Ahmad, Azmat Pasha, Naseem Hussain, Arif Hayyat and Ramzan Jamali will be the tournament officers. Saeed Ahmed will be the umpire's manager . Masood Ur Rehman (Karachi) and Jamil Butt (Army) named as assistant umpires mangers. The judges will be Rafiq Khan,Ejaz Shaikh, Anwar Ahmed, Rao Javed, Muhammad Nadeem, Irfan Qureshi, Mussarat Hussain, Azeem Khan, Imtiaz Ul Hassan, Muhammad Omer, Ejaz Raza, Zahid Ghaffar, Shahid Habib, Zahid Mehmood, Amir Siddiqui, Haroon Saeed, Rana Afzal, Shafiq Bhatti, Allahdad, Mian Zafar, Ali Ahmad Baloch, Liaqat Ali, Tariq Rasheed, Moeed Khan, Salman Sheikh, Tanvir Ghouri, Babar Ahmad, Fakhar Ahmad, Saleem, Khalil Shah, Rana Muzaffar and Talat mehmood. Muhammad Arshad, Asghar Ali, Tassadaq Hussain, Shahid Parvez, Faisal Ismail, Haq Nawaz, Asif Ahmad, Kamran Sharif, Khawaja Naveed, Rana Sajid Ali, Naveed Asghar, Munir Ahmad, Mir Ali Kurd, Shahid Gul, Muslehuddin, Ehsan Ul Haq Babar, Kamran Shah, Mubarik Ali and Gul Badin will be on umpires panel. In the meantime following 22 member Lahore team have been named for the competition.The selected 22 players are Basharat Ali (Lahore) and Sufiyan (Lahore) (Goal Keepers), Abdul Aleem (Lahore), Mudassar Nazir (Lahore) and Sultan Amir (Kasur) (Full Backs), Hassaan Ubaid (Lahore), Muhammad Iftikhar (Kasur), Rashid Minhas (Lahore), Abdul Ghafar (Kasur), Javed Riaz (Lahore) and Ali Butt (Lahore) (Half Backs), Abdul Khaliq (Lahore), Bilal Qadir (Lahore), Arslan Haider (Lahore), Rizwan (Lahore), Hafiz Umair Akram (Kasur), Azfar Yaqoob (Lahore), Muhib Ullah (Lahore), Sadaqat Ali (Lahore), H. M Omer Sardar (Lahore), Shafaqat and Kashif (Forwards).