LAHORE - On the directive of Chief Minister Punjab Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif, the school education department has decided that non-functional government schools will be handed over to Punjab Education Foundation (PEF) to make these schools functional. These schools were closed due to non-availability of staff in the tehsils including Esa Khel, Noorpur Thel, Kaloor Kot, Mankaira, Chobarah, Jatoi, Rojhan, Tribal Areas of DG Khan and Rajanpur, Cholistan area of Bahawalpur and R Y Khan. According to Secretary School Education this includes handing over the management of non-functional schools to Punjab Education Foundation to ensure the availability of local teachers. The assets and the properties of these schools will remain with the Education Department, while the management and functioning will be dealt by the PEF. The Secretary School Education further stated that the Chairman, Punjab Education Foundation was kind enough to spearhead the initiative and offered to make it a success.