PESHAWAR (INP) - The strength of the Peshawar High Court (PHC) has reached 15 as six additional judges were administered oath on Tuesday. PHC Chief Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan administered the oath to the new judges, who included Khalid Mehmood, Fazal Haq Abbasi, Nisar Hussain Khan, Waqar Ahmad Seth, Qaiser Rashid and Malik Azmatullah. Interestingly, only three of the 15 PHC judges are confirmed while the remaining 12 are additional judges. The confirmed judges are Chief Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan, Justice Shahjehan Khan Yousafzai and Justice Dost Muhammad Khan. Ignoring the bench in the new elevations has caused heartburning among judicial officers, who say, it was an injustice with them to end up as a district and sessions judge after serving as judicial officers for 30 to 35 years. At present, out of the 15 judges only two are from the subordinate judiciary. They are Justice Attaullah Khan and Justice Miftauddin Khan. The others are from the bar. The names of the six new judges were recommended by the Judicial Commission, headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, on July 6. The Parliamentary Committee for Appointment of Judges also approved their names after which a notification about their appointment was issued. President Asif Ali Zardari on the advice of Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani, on July 25, appointed the six additional judges in the PHC for a period of one year. The new judges will start their work immediately as the PHC chief justice has already assigned work to them.