islamabad - A single bench of Islamabad High Court yesterday directed former Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhary to produce the bullet proof vehicle in the court by December 8.

A single bench of IHC comprising of Justice Shaukat Aziz Siddiqui conducted hearing of the case and excused to hear further arguments in this matter and adjourned the hearing till December 8 for further proceedings.

During the hearing, he remarked that why the vehicle has not been returned if the division bench has suspended his judgment. Therefore, he directed to produce the vehicle on the next date of hearing.

Earlier, a division bench of the IHC comprising of Justice Noor-ul-Haq N Qureshi and Justice Aamer Farooq had allowed Intra Court Appeal (ICA) of the federal government against a January 15, 2014 order of an IHC single bench regarding provision of bullet proof vehicle to the former chief justice of Pakistan (CJP), Justice (retd) Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry.

The IHC division had directed single bench to decide the matter after hearing from both sides.

IHC single member bench comprising of Justice Shaukat Aziz Siddiqui on January 15, 2014 had directed federal government to provide a bullet proof vehicle to the former CJP. Federal government in its ICA had adopted before the IHC that single bench issued the said order without hearing them.

Sheikh Ahsanuddin Advocate who is focal person of the Pakistan Justice & Democratic Party headed by Iftikhar Chaudhry and on whose petition the IHC single member bench had ordered for provision of vehicle to Justice Chaudhry had been arguing in this matter that the ministry of interior itself through a letter had informed the former CJP regarding security threats to his life.

On January 15, 2014, Justice Shaukat Aziz Siddiqui of the IHC had directed federal government to provide Justice Chaudhry with security at par with the former prime ministers of Pakistan after he was informed by a joint secretary cabinet division Ziaul Haq that the federal government has provided bullet proof cars to the three former premiers including Ch Shujaat Hussain, Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani and Raja Pervez Ashraf, while no former President has been provided with the bullet proof car.