ISLAMABAD (APP) The National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) on Saturday directed to the authorities concerned to take up the provision of necessary funding for maintenance of all roads being used by the Nato with it. The committee asked the Ministry of SAFRON - through ministries of Finance, Defence and Foreign Affairs - to take up the issue with the Nato. The meeting was chaired by Engineer Muhammad Tariq Khattak and attended by Murtaza Javed Abbasi, MNA, Mir Ahmadan Khan Bugti, MNA, Syed Asif Hasnain MNA and Pervaiz Khan MNA, Jawad Hussain, MNA. Shaukatullah, Minister for State and Frontier Regions and others. The committee said the condition of Turkham crossing point and other such points should be renovated. The Ministry of SAFRON should consult with Ministry of Finance, National Highway Authority, Ministry of Communication, Ministry of Railway and other relevant quarters for comprehensive plan to take up the issue with the Nato and furnish progress report to the committee. The body also took up the issue of grant of maintenance allowance and other matters to the former rulers of the Kalat, Makran, Lasbela and Kharan states of Balochistan. The committee reiterated that as the states had been merged, therefore, we should step forward after detailed examination of pros and cons of the agreements with these states etc. The committee decided to constitute a sub-committee under the headship of Pervaiz Khan Advocate, to make recommendation relating to maintenance allowance of all the states and other matters relating to former rulers of all the states merged in Pakistan. The sub-committee members include Jawad Hussain, MNA and Lt. Gen. (r) Abdul Qadir Baloch, MNA. The issue has historical implications of the maintenance allowances of the ex-rulers acceding to Pakistan, whether their present perks and privileges require a revision, increase or its abolition. About the issue of total annual income received through Afghanistan Transit Trade from Fata to federal government, the committee was informed that it is an international practice that transit facilities are provided by the states. The revenue being generated through Afghan Transit Trade is in the form of port charges for handling the goods to transit. Similarly, the revenue is earned in transportation of such goods through Pakistan. The Committee recommended that FBR/Ministry of Finance should allocate adequate special funds to National Highway Authority for maintenance of roads of Chamman, Jamrud, Torkham, Gilgit, Khyber Agency and Khojak being used for Pak-Afghan Trade/Nato use. The committee expressed concern that relevant MPAs/MNAs are not properly consulted and there is no welfare schemes for refugees affected areas including NA-5 area which is most populated area of refugees. The committee expressed dissatisfaction in running RAHA schemes, their maintenance, installation of hydel stations, tube wells, sanitation, and water supply. The committee advised the Minister of SAFRON/Fata to include all the affected areas including Fata in connection with Rs392 million released by donors for RAHA Scheme. In this regard a Sub-Committee under Muhammad Tariq Khattak, MNA, was constituted. Pervaiz Khan, MNA, Jawad Hussain, MNA, Lt Gen(r) Abdul Qadir Baloch, MNA, Murtaza Javed Abbasi, MNA will be the members. The TOR is revisit of previous PC-1 schemes/funding micro hydel stations, criteria of selection at district level, further finding ways of implementation, allocation for future schemes of RAHA. Minister and Secretary SAFRON ensured the members of the Committee that Parliamentarians will be taken on board in connection with RAHA schemes.