ST JOHN'S - India will begin a seven-week tour of the West Indies starting on July 6 with four Tests and two practice matches, the cricket boards of both countries confirmed on Thursday.

The tour will get underway with a two-day practice match from July 9 in St Kitts followed by a three-day warm-up match from July 14 at the same venue. The four Tests will be played in Antigua and Barbuda, Jamaica, St Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago.  The first Test will begin from July 21, the second from July 30, the third from August 9 and the last one from August 18.

West Indies Cricket Board head of operations Roland Holder said all four venues "are ready to host the visiting Indian team". India's cricket board last month announced the resumption of bilateral cricketing ties, arising from the West Indies withdrawal from an India tour mid-way in October 2014.

India's board dropped a $42 million damages claim against the West Indies in April over the abandoned tour after the team agreed to return to play in India next year. The last time the Indian team toured the West Indies was in June 2011 for a three-Test series, which India won 1-0.


Two day July 9-10 St Kitts

Three day July l4-16 St Kitts

Test 1 July 21-25 Antigua

Test 2 July 30-Aug 3 Jamaica

Test 3 Aug 9-13 St Lucia

Test 4 Aug 18-22 T&T