LAHORE - Muslim League faction led by Chaudhrys of Gujrat would complete party’s reorganisation campaign after Eidul Fitr by holding intra-party polls, PML-Q central spokesman said yesterday.

Talking to The Nation over the matter of intra-party polls, PML-Q central spokesman Senator Kamil Ali Agha said, “The party had started reorganisation campaign two months back but stopped due to wheat harvesting and rice sowing season. The reorganisation will restart from mid of Ramazan and tentatively completed after Eid-ul-Fitr for preparing ground to hold intra-party polls.”

“Ramazan is the best opportunity to advance political activities at Iftar events where people participate in maximum numbers especially in the rural regions,” he added.

He ,however, could not furnish valid reasons why the party’s three committees overseeing the reorganisation process failed to complete the process in a single district of Punjab during the time they had for reorganisation excluding the duration for farming season.

Senator Agha is steering the central Punjab Committee for party’s reorganisation, Raja Basharat heading the North Punjab and Ahmed Yar Hiraj leading South Punjab.

It would be party’s top leadership prerogative to decide when the intra-party polls to take place. It is not necessary that party polls would be held immediately after completion of reorganisation process, said PML-Q spokesman when asked about tentative schedule for intra-party polls.

Committees had also been constituted in all the districts of Punjab to carry out the task of reorganisation.

The District Committees report to the heads of three Regional Committees which would finally report to the provincial leadership, said Agha while explaining the process of the reorganisation.  The District Committees would cover the Union Council and tehsil units of the party with regard to reorganisation, he added.

PML-Q, which suffered serious political losses in the result of 2008 general elections, has its support pockets in districts of Sargodha, Attock, Chakwal, Kasur, Mandi Bahauddin, Gujrat, Gujranwala, Jhelum, Rawalpindi, Bahawalpur and Dera Ghazi Khan at the current stage. It also enjoys small local political groups support in other districts of the province.

Muslim League faction of Chaudhrys of Gujrat has two seats in the National Assembly and seven in Provincial Assembly of Punjab excluding the two women reserve seats.

Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi secured NA-105, Gujrat-II in the result of 2013 general elections. Another was won by Tariq Bashir Cheema from Bahawalpur. The constituency is NA-187, Bahawalpur-V. The seven directly elected seats of PML-Q in Punjab Assembly include Ahmad Shah Khagga PP-229 (Pakpattan-III), Chaudhry Moonis Elahi PP-110 (Gujrat-III), Aamir Sultan Cheema PP-32 (Sarghoda-V), Muhammad Afzal PP-276 (Bahawalpur-X), Muhammad Nasir Cheema PP-97 (Gujranwala-VII), Sardar Muhammad Asif Nakai PP-183 (Kasur-IX) and Sardar Vickas Hassan Mokal PP-180 (Kasur-VI).