KARACHI/LAHORE - President Asif Ali Zardari has appointed thirteen additional judges in the Sindh High Court (SHC). According to the notification issued on Monday, these judges have been appointed for a term of one year. Deposed justice Arshad Siraj Memon, who had refused to take oath under PCO on November 02, 2007, and Deputy Attorney General Aamir Raza Naqvi are also among the newly appointed SHC judges while Justice Qazi Khalid has been made permanent. After the new inductions, the number of judges in SHC has reached to thirty-six while four more posts are still lying vacant in the provincial apex court. The new judges are expected to take oath on Tuesday (today). Names of the new SHC judges include Justice Maqbool Ahmed Awan, Justice Safdar Ali Bhutto, Justice Moharram G Baloch, Justice Malik Muhammad Aqil, Justice Syed Shafqat Ali Masoomi, Justice Ms Soofia Latif, Justice Iqbal Mahar, Justice Salman Talibuddin, Justice Khadim Hussain Sheikh, Justice Ismail Bhutto, Justice Arshad Siraj Memon, Justice Aamir Raza Naqvi and Justice Karim Khan Agha. After the appointment of Justice Arshad Siraj Memon, only Justice Mushir Alam and Justice Maqbool Baqar are left as the deposed judges of Sindh High Court. It is worth mentioning here that the government had already decided to increase the number of judges from 28 to 40 and had issued a notification in this regard. Our Lahore Staff Reporter adds: Newly-appointed sixteen additional judges of the Lahore High Court took oath of their offices here on Monday for a period of one year. Chief Justice Sayed Zahid Hussain administered oath to the judges in a ceremony attended by senior judges, law officers and lawyers' affiliated to PPP. Family members of new additional judges also attended the ceremony held in the committee room of the high court. The names of additional judges who took oath, as per their seniority, are Justice Pervaiz Ali Chawala, Justice Habibullah Shakir, Justice Nazir Ahmed Ghazi, Justice Abdul Sattar Goraya, Justice Syed Ihtasham Qadir Shah, Justice Jamila Jahanoor Aslam, Justice Mahmood Akhtar Khan, Justice Jamshed Rehmatullah, Justice Pervez Inayat Malik, Justice Arshad Mahmood, Justice Irfan Qadir, Justice Syed Zulfiqar Ali Bukhari, Justice Ch. Naeem Masood, Justice Anwar-ul-Haq Pannu, Justice Muhammad Shafqat Khan Abbasi and Justice Imtiaz Rasheed Siddiqui. With the appointment of these new additional judges the number of total judges in LHC has been reached 52 that are still 8 short of sanctioned strength of 60. After the ceremony, Chief Justice Sayed Zahid Hussain while talking to media said the remaining vacant seats of the judges would be filled soon. Responding to a question about newly established "Mobile Courts" the CJ said, the action appeared to be useful for providing the masses speedy justice on their doorsteps. However, "I have not gone through the ordinance in detail yet," CJ added. He further said they would continue their efforts for the provision of justice to masses ignoring all the criticism. The CJ refused to respond a query about lawyer's long march and sit-in (dharna). The brief introduction of the judges is that Justice Pervez Chawla is from judicial service as he has been elevated from the office of Registrar Lahore High Court. Justice Jamila is Jahanoor from Rawalpindi and a dab hand on tax matters. She was an associate of CJ Islamabad High Court. Justice Shafqat Khan Abbasi is the former PPP MPA and presently, member Pakistan Bar Council. He was at the forefront of lawyers' movement but quit it after PPP formed government. He is also the close relative of Federal Minister Mahreen Elahi. Besides he has also been chairman Executive Committee of Punjab Bar Council. Justice Habib Ullah Shakir is the former President High Court Bar Multan, and is known for a strong affiliation with PPP. He belongs to Khosa group headed by Attorney General of Pakistan Sardar Latif Khan Khosa. Justice Pervez Inayat Malik is another member of Pakistan Bar Council and politically affiliated with PPP. He was presidential candidate in LHCBA last year election but lost. Before elections, he was a front line supporter of the lawyers' movement while confronting Pervez Musharraf March 9, 2007 action. His brother Naveed Inayat Malik is enjoying the office of deputy attorney general. Justice Nazir Ahmad Ghazi belongs to Lahore and goes for an authority on Islamic jurisprudence. He has also served as law officer of Punjab and held the office of vice president SCBA. Justice Syed Ihetasham Qadir Shah is the son of an eminent lawyer Ahsan Shah of Sargodha. Late Ahsan was counsel of former Prime Minister Zulifkar Ali Bhutto. Justice Syed Zulfiqar Ali Bokhari is former vice president Lahore High Court Bar and former secretary SCBA in 2007 when he was reckoned among the leaders of the lawyers protesting against the March 9, 2007 action. Later, he left lawyers' movement. Justice Imtiaz Rasheed Siddiqui is known as one of the best lawyers on corporate and company matters. Justice Ch Naeem Masood has been elevated from the office of assistant advocate general. Justice Arshad Mahmood is the son of former Supreme Court Judge, Muhammad Ilyas who also remained acting chief justice Lahore High Court during Benazir's second tenure. Justice Irfan Qadir is former prosecutor general Punjab and NAB prosecutor. He is the son in law of former Chief Justice Lahore High Court, Justice Aslam Riaz Hussain. Justice Jamshed Rahman Ullah, the only non-Muslim, has been a legal adviser of FC College.