LAHORE - For the 11 Senate seats of Punjab, the ruling PML-N is geared up to make a clean sweep on March 5.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has fielded 13 candidates for the said number of the seats and they would face three candidates PPP on all categories namely general, women and technocrats.

The PPP had, reportedly, offered the N-League unopposed election of the candidates on all seats provided it conceded one seat to its candidate. But the N-Leadership did not agree and resultantly election would take place in full. The PML-N by virtue of its strength in the Punjab Assembly, over 300 of the 371-member House, is poised to win all seats provided its member do not shift loyalties in favour of any other party.

PML-N has fielded nine candidates for seven general seats, each two for women and technocrat seats of the equal number.

The PML-N candidates on general seats include Lt-Gen (Retd) Abdul Qayyum, Muhammad Saud Majeed, Pervaiz Rasheed, Mushahiddullah Khan, Ch Tanveer Khan, Ghaus Muhammad Khan Niazi, Syed Nihal Hashmi, Khawaja Mahmood Ahmad and Saleem Zia.

On the women seats the party has fielded Najma Hameed and Ayesha Raza Farooq while on the technocrat/ulema seat the N candidates are Raja Zafarul Haq and Prof Sajid Mir.

The PPP has fielded Nadeem Afzal Chann for general, Sarwar Kanwal for women and Nousher Khan Langrial for technocrat seat.

The PPP has just eight members in the Punjab Assembly while it enjoyed support of the PML-Q, nine, while 26 members of the PTI have so far not decided to take part in the election after they had tendered resignations in September last year.

The PML-N leadership has formed the committees to make sure that all party members cast vote for the party candidates as well as their presence is certain.

The Prime Minister himself has passed instructions to the members to ensure their presence in the Assembly on the election day and has also called back the members who are on foreign visit.

Punjab Assembly will serve as polling station on the day of elections which would be held under the supervision Provincial Election Commission, also the Returning Officer on the day of election. Time for the polling will start at 9am and continue till 4pm on March 5th.