Dhaka - Bangladesh's lower-order batsmen kept their cool under pressure to beat Pakistan by five wickets in Dhaka on Wednesday, securing them a place in the Asia Cup final.

Soumya Sarkar was Bangladesh's highest scorer with 48 runs, helping his team to 131-5 in 19.1 overs after they restricted Pakistan to 129-7 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. The hosts will play their second Asia Cup final against India on March 6. Bangladesh's Mahmudullah Riyad struck medium pacer Anwar Ali for a boundary to complete the thrilling victory and stay unbeaten on 22.

The winning boundary triggered wild celebrations in the dressing room and in the boisterous gallery, where Bangladesh's Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was among those watching. Mohammad Aamir threatened to spoil the hosts' party in front of a packed stadium when he bowled Soumya and Shakib Al Hasan in successive overs during his second spell, to finish 2-26.

When he bowled Shakib, Bangladesh still needed 26 runs in 16 balls with the tail exposed to Pakistan's top pace attack. But Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza, not out on 12, moved himself up the order to hit two boundaries in Aamir's next two balls and take off some pressure.

"It's a big win for us," Mashrafe said after the match. "This was like a semi-final. (I) told the boys to just grab it, because we knew there would be plenty of such matches in the future. There was a bit of pressure in the middle, but we coped well." The match swung decisively to Bangladesh's favour when Mashrafe and Mahmudullah scored 15 runs in Mohammad Sami's next over, which included two no balls.

Pakistan's captain Shahid Afridi rued his side's poor batting. "We made too many mistakes. It wasn't a good total, but the bowlers did superbly," Afridi said.

Pakistan recovered from a slow start to put on a decent score, thanks to an unbeaten half-century from wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed. But Bangladesh's pace bowlers managed to keep Pakistan to 28-4 before Ahmed and Shoaib Malik shared 70 runs for the fifth wicket. Ahmed hit 58 off 42 balls, with five fours and two sixes, while Malik added 41 off 31 balls as Pakistan scored 95 runs in the last 10 overs.

Malik, fresh from a match-winning unbeaten 63 against the UAE, hit five fours and a six. Al-Amin Hossain grabbed 3-25 runs, while Arafat Sunny claimed 2-35 playing his first match in the tournament. Taskin Ahmed conceded just two runs in his first three overs, before finishing with 1-14. Pakistan will face Sri Lanka on March 4, although neither team can now reach the final. The other finalists, India, will face the UAE on Thursday.

Behind the losers

4 Number of ducks for Shahid Afridi as captain, which is the joint-most by any batsman with Ireland's William Porterfield. Overall, this was his eighth duck in this format - third-most after Tillakaratne Dilshan (10) and Luke Wright (9).

14.16 Average opening stand for Pakistan in six T20Is in 2016 - lowest among the full-member sides. Their highest stand has been just 33 this year. Last year, their average stand was 28.18 in 16 innings with three stands of 50 or more and highest of 142.



Khurram Manzoor c Mushfiqur b Al-Amin 1

Sharjeel Khan b Arafat Sunny 10

M Hafeez lbw b Mashrafe 2

Sarfraz Ahmed not out 58

Umar Akmal c Shakib b Taskin 4

Shoaib Malik c Sabbir b Arafat 41

Afridi c Sabbir b Al-Amin 0

Anwar Ali c Sabbir b Al-Amin 13


TOTAL: (7 wickets; 20 overs; 94 mins) 129

FOW: 1-1, 2-12, 3-18, 4-28, 5-98, 6-102, 7-129

BOWLING: Taskin Ahmed 4-1-14-1, Al-Amin Hossain 4-0-25-3, Arafat Sunny 4-0-35-2, Mashrafe Mortaza 4-0-29-1, Shakib Al Hasan 4-0-26-0


Tamim Iqbal lbw b M Irfan 7

Soumya Sarkar b M Aamir 48

Sabbir Rahman b Afridi 14

Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Shoaib Malik 12

Shakib Al Hasan b M Aamir 8

Mahmudullah not out 22

Mashrafe Mortaza not out 12

EXTRAS: (lb 4, w 2, nb 2) 8

TOTAL: (5 wckts; 19.1 overs) 131

FOW: 1-13, 2-46, 3-83, 4-88, 5-104

BOWLING: M Aamir 4-0-26-2, M Irfan 4-0-23-1, M Sami 4-0-30-0, Shahid Afridi 4-0-20-1, Anwar Ali 2.1-0-25-0, Shoaib Malik 1-0-3-1

TOSS: Pakistan

UMPIRES: AK Chaudhary, RSA Palliyaguruge

TV UMPIRE: Enamul Haque

MATCH REFEREE: JJ Crowe (New Zealand)

RESERVE UMPIRE: Shozab Raza (Pakistan)