LAHORE – Lahore teams scored wins in their respective matches in the Faysalbank Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here at the two different venues on Monday.

Man of the match Umar Akmal led Lahore Lions to victory over Multan Tigers at the Bagh-e-Jinnah ground.

Batting first, Lahore Lions posted 183 in the 20 overs. Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shahzad provided 59 runs for the opening stand. Nasir added 21 runs. Kamran Akmal joined with opener Ahmed Shahzad and added 52 runs before Rahat Ali broke the partnership and bowled Kamran when his score was 31 runs. Opener Ahmed Shahzad played a sheet anchor role and stayed at the crease till the 19th overs. He added 68 runs in team’s total and was the top scorer for his team before falling prey to Zulfiqar Babar on the first ball of the 19th over. Umar Akmal remained unbeaten on 21-ball 55 runs with five fours and four sixes and helps his team to made 182/4.

Multan Tigers openers off to flying start as they collected 48 runs for the opening stand but Wahab Riaz sent Zain Abbas back to pavilion when his score was 19 runs. Gulraiz Sadaf then joined Sohaib Maqsood but the later caught and bowled of Mustafa Iqbal. He made 35 runs. Gulraiz and Saeed Anwar Junior put played sensibly and keep Multan on track but after their departure they failed to meet the target and restricted to 152/5. Gulraiz made 38 runs. Umar Akmal was declared man of the match.

At LCCA ground, Lahore Eagles thrashed Peshawar Panther by 76 runs. Imran Farhat smashed 45-ball 68 runs. Azhar Ali made 26 runs with three fours. Waqar Ahmed (3-36) and Aslam Qureshi (2-25) bowled well for the Panther. M Khalil and Saad Nasim grabbed two wickets each and restricted them to paltry 86-8 in 20 overs.

In other matches of the day, Bahawalpur Stags beat Karachi Dolphins by two wickets at Bagh-e-Jinnah ground. Man of the match Imran Ullah of Stags played vital role in his team’s win and scored 48 runs.

Mir Azam (59) led Abbottabad Falcons to two-wicket victory over Islamabad Leopards at the Gaddafi Stadium. Islamabad Leopards scored 116-8 in 20 overs with Amad Wasim scoring 45 runs. Amjad Waqas grabbed 3-21 and Khalid Usman 2-25. Abbottabad Falcons chased the target in the last over of the match. Younas Khan unbaten 38 runs.

Faisalabad Wolves beat Hyderabad Hawks by eight wickets at the LCCA ground. Hyderabad Hawks managed 98/8 in 20 overs with Rizwan Ahmed scoring 41 runs. Saeed Ajmal. Khurram and Asad got two wickets each. Faisalabad Wolves achieved the victory target in 16.1 overs.  Farrukh Shahzad scored 51-ball 57 runs with nine fours. Naveed Latif made 34 not out.

Sialkot Stallions won by 8 wickets: Shoaib Malik helped Sialkot Stallions beat Karachi Zebra with a fine half-century here at the Gaddafi Stadium. Karachi Zebra could manage 111/5 in 20 overs with Daniyal Ahsan scored unbeaten 24 runs and Faisal Iqbal, Ramiz Aziz and Ramiz Raja Jr made 21 runs each. Adeel Malik got 3/19. Shoaib Malik made unbeaten 50 runs while Haris Sohail scored 34 runs.