LAHORE - The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) will discuss and approve the invitation received from the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) in its  Executive Coordination Committee meeting to be held today (Wednesday).

The Champions League will commence from the second week of October and concluded at the end of October. The top two teams from the qualifying leg will go through to the next stage of the 2012 Champions League Twenty20. The qualifying tournament will feature 6 teams (2 groups of 3 teams each) and a winner of each group will advance to the next stage.

Earlier, Pakistan Cricket Board confirmed that an invitation has been received from the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20), inviting the winner of Pakistan Domestic Season 2012 Twenty20 champions to participate in the qualifying Tournament for the 2012 Champions League Twenty20 to be held in South Africa.

Meanwhile, Sialkot Stallions will be the first Pakistan team to compete at the Champions League Twenty20 when the cricket tournament returns to South Africa in October, organizers said on Tuesday.

The Pakistan domestic T20 champions will join teams from the host country, India, England, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand and Sri Lanka at the competition, which runs Oct. 9-28.

It's the second time the tournament has been played in South Africa. Games will be staged in Johannesburg, Cape Town, Durban and Centurion, near Pretoria. Mumbai Indians will defend their title despite not finishing in the top three at the Indian Premier League and compete alongside IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders, 2010 Champions League winners Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils.

Australia's Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers also have qualified and the winner and runner-up of England's domestic T20 competition, which ends in August, will both earn places.

The Champions League governing council said South Africa's Nashua Titans and Highveld Lions, Trinidad and Tobago, Auckland Aces and the winner of Sri Lanka's T20 tournament were the other sides in the tournament, which was expanded from 10 to 14 teams. The Champions League was last in South Africa in 2010, with the 2009 and 2011 versions held in India.