LAHORE- The Director of Tehreek-e-Minhajul Quran (TMQ) Jawad Ahmed has submitted a petition against the Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif and five others in the session court where he has called for a case to be registered against them over the Model Town tragedy.

The petition is a plea that cases be lodged against the so-named and accused under section 302, 7 ATA and section 95 among other criminal sections. It stated that 14 innocent persons were killed and over 100 were injured in the firing incident.

The petitioner included the names of Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and Defence Minister Khawaja Asif in the application. Ahmed further named former Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah, ASP Model Town Haroonur Rasheed and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) activist Gullu Butt as parties in the incident.

The petitioner claimed that the government was solely responsible for the Model Town tragedy and a case should be registered against the specified people on charges of murder and robbery in Model Town on June 17.