ISLAMABAD - The Opposition has demanded of the government to empower Special Committee fully so that it could review foreign policy and implement 14-point consensus resolution. Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza Monday conducted separate meetings with Parliamentary Leaders in Senate and National Assembly to elicit their opinion to constitute a Parliamentary Committee to oversee implementation of the consensus resolution passed in the in-camera joint session of the Parliament on October 22, 2008. According to the sources, the Opposition told Mirza that the people had pinned high hopes on Special Committee of the Parliament therefore it should have teeth for implementing consensus resolution. "The Opposition demanded of the Speaker to constitute the committee within two or three days, as any further delay would increase the hopelessness among the people," sources said. The Parliamentary Leaders of Opposition parties told the Speaker that the passage of the resolution had strengthened people's faith in democracy and the Parliament. Parliamentary Leader of Pakistan Muslim League (Quaid) Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat told TheNation that his party had presented the names of Senator Waseem Sajjad and Engineer Amir Muqam as members of the committee. He said the committee should have teeth for the implementation of unanimous resolution of joint sitting of the Parliament. Hayat said the Opposition should have authority to convene the meeting of a Special Committee. "The committee should be constituted at the earliest, as its formation has already been delayed for two weeks," he added. He said the committee could help government overcome the problem of incursions into Pakistani territory by Nato forces. The Speaker congratulated the Parliamentary Leaders on passing the unanimous resolution during the joint sitting while terming its passage as "historical and a milestone in the parliamentary history of the country". She said the passage of the resolution showed maturity of the politicians on the issues of vital national interests. She said all parliamentary parties had acted according to the aspirations of the people and hadn't disappointed them. She said the resolution had also upheld the sovereignty of the Parliament. Those who met the Speaker included Senators Mian Raza Rabbani, Leader of the House in Senate, Kamil Ali Agha and Israrullah Zehri, MNAs Ch Nisar Ali Khan, Leader of Opposition in National Assembly, Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat, Munir Khan Orakzai, Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour and Mehmood Abbass. The consultations with leaders will continue today.