In the first phase of local bodies elections wherein the ruling party clinched majority of seats, some well-known politicians of PML-N and their relatives suffered “shameful defeat” at the hands of their revivals.

In Kasur UC-102, the son of Punjab Assemble speaker Rana Iqbal was defeated by rival PTI candidate Rana Imtiaz Ahmad.

Another big upset was witnessed in UC-28 where Malik Ahmad Khan, son of the sitting MNA lost to PTI candidate Sardar Muhammad Doger while Arshad Rafiq Ansari and Asgar Ansari, cousins of PML-N MPA from PP-175 Muhammad Yaqoob also lost the elections to the PTI men despite using government machinery in their elections campaign.

Similarly, Khalid Raza Khan, brother of former MPA from PP-180 Ahsan Raza Khan was defeated by the PTI candidate. In UC-16 Nizampura, Independent candidate Meher Muhammad Latif won his seat for the third time although his opponent Chaudhry Bashir known as Papu Butt was backed by the PML-N sitting MNA and MPA.

Interestingly in UC Bahadurpura, Malik Nawaz Khan, first cousin of sitting MPA Ahmed Saeed was knocked down by his opponent and Sardar Liaqat Doger won despite strong political backing of the opponents.

Prior to the first phase of the LB elections, there were rumours that the government may use its power and provide financial support to their candidates to influence the results. However, all such rumours turned out to be rumours as some of the strongmen of the ruling party tasted defeat at the hands of their opponents.

On the other hand, though the PML-N has won a sample majority in the district with 47 seats, the PT with its 30-odd-seats looks getting prepared for taking the mantle at the district with the help of 44 independents, PPP 2 and one PML-Q seats. It has been learnt that former foreign minister Khurshid Mehmood Kasuri and former district nazim Rana Imtiaz Ahmed Khan have started mustering political support in this regard.

The PML-N, however, seems confident that the independents would join the party which would ensure its smooth sail through the district government.