ISLAMABAD - Waqas Mehboob, Syed Ali Mujtaba Bukhari, Kashif Asif and Raees Khan moved into the main qualifying round of the $25,000 Serena Hotels President Gold Cup International Squash Tournament 2015 started here at Mushaf Squash Complex on Tuesday.

Newly-wed Waqas Mehboob caused a major upset when he defeated former world number 11 and Pakistan's top player Mansoor Zaman in the last match of the day. Today (Wednesday) is rest day, while the qualifying round matches will be played on November 5 and 6 with main round starts on November 7. Besides Pakistan, a group of world ranking players from Austria, Egypt, Jordon and USA are participating in the event.

The match of the day was played between young Waqas Mehboob, brother of Farhan Mehboob, and Mansoor Zaman. Waqas was in awesome form as he completely outclassed veteran Mansoor in the first game winning it 11-3. Same was case in the second game, as Waqas was fully aware of Mansoor's abilities, so he raced onto take second game with similar 11-3 margin. Waqas was leading 5-0 in the third game, when Mansoor conceded the match sighting injury.

In the second match, top seed in qualifiers Syed Ali Bukhari had to face stiff resistance before overcoming Sadamul Haq 3-1. Ali won the first game 13-11, lost the second 8-11, before winning the third 11-8. The fourth game went right down to the wire before Ali prevailed and took it 14-12 to register victory. Second seed in qualifying round Kashif Asif took 31 minutes to thrash Abdul Malik in straight games 11-8, 11-3, 11-8. Raees Khan beat Mehran Javed 3-1 in 39 minutes, as he won the first game 11-6 and second 11-6 but lost the third 6-11 and finally won the fourth 11-6 to move into main qualifying round.

Earlier in the morning session matches, Sadamul Haq beat Mubashir Khan 11/4, 11/3,11/7, Syed Ali Bukhari beat Moin Rauf 11/5, 11/2, 11/1, Abdul Malik beat Abdul Basit 11/6, 14/12, 11/3, Kashif Asif beat Hamza Bhatti 11/7, 11/7, 11/9, Mansoor Zaman beat Zeeshan Khan 12/10, 6/11, 15/13, 11/8, Waqas Mehboob beat Salman Hashmi 10/12, 11/7, 11/5, 11/2, Raees Khan beat Yasir Sarwar 11/3, 11/6, 11/6 and Mehran Javed beat Salman Zeb 11/3, 11/8, 10/12, 11/9.