Polling in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly to elect 13th President of Pakistan for next five years is underway peacefully with Nighat Aurakzai of Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) casting the first vote.

The presidential election polling which started at 10.00 am and will continue till 4 pm.

Out of total 124 members of the KP assembly, 112 lawmakers are part of the electoral college for the presidential election to poll their votes.

The PTI with 79 legislators on their benches emerged the single largest party with two-third majority whereas the combined opposition comprising ANP, MMA, PPP and PMLN have a total tally of 33.

The PTI has fielded its senior leader, Arif Alvi, MMA has put Maulana Falzur Rehman and PPP’s Aitzaz Ahsan are in the race for the election for the office of President. The election would be held through secret balloting procedure.

According to party position, PTI is in a comfortable position to win the presidential election from KP electoral body.

Strict security arrangements are in place to ensure the conduct of the election in a peaceful atmosphere.

The polling for the presidential election at Punjab Assembly with Chief Justice Lahore High Court Syed Yawar Ali as the presiding officer also going in a smooth manner.

354 MPAs will vote for 13th president of the country through secret ballot. Punjab Assembly building has been declared polling station by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

Former Speaker PA Rana Muhammad Iqbal Khan cast the first vote at the Punjab Assembly.