KARACHI - The Idara-e-Taleem-o-Aagahi (ITA), Female Education Trust (FET) and Oxford University Press (OUP) on Saturday organised a grand ceremony for the distribution of first Anita Ghulam Ali Teachers Award for 10 best secondary school science teachers across the country. The ceremony was held at a local hotel, and Karachi-based Abida Mukhtar declared the 2nd winner of the award. She received a medal and a shield with Rs50,000 cash award. For the year 2008, ten best teachers had selected for the award by a panel comprising of senior educationalist, researchers and education experts. The panel is comprising of Professor Khawaja Masud, a revered professor, thinker and activist, Syed Raza Kazim, a teacher, researcher and inventor, Dr Arifa Syeda, chairperson National Commission on the status of women, Dr Mohammad Memon, Agha Khan University, institute for education development (Sindh), Professor Bernadette Dean, principal Kinnaird College, Punjab, Professor Shaheen Sardar Ali, professor of law, Warwick Schools of Law and University of Oslo, Mashood Rizvi, Director British Council (Sindh, Balochistan), Ameena Sayed, country director Oxford University Press, Bela Raza Jamil, educator and chairperson ITA. The awards of the other winning teachers belonging to various parts of the country would be given to them in their areas, organisers said. Bela Raza Jamil, chairperson ITA, said that Professor Anita Ghulam Ali was a living legend, a teacher and citizen par excellence who believes in the spirit of teachers and their strength. This award is not bound by any quota or provincial constraint but only driven by the motivation to find models of excellence that can reposition teachers role and status in our society so that we may discover in our teachers many more Anita Ghulam Ali, as beacons of learning and practice. The first prize was of Rs100,000, followed by 4 awards of Rs50,000, second and third position holder will get Rs30,000 and 4th Rs15,000.