SAARC, which stands South Asian Association Regional Cooperation, was established in 1985. It comprises of members, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and Maldives. The aim of establishing this organisation was to resolve the issues faced by member states.

The unjust killing of Kashmiri activist, Burhan Wani, awakened a series of protest all over Indian-Occupied Kashmir. Indian forces took the lives of fifty innocent civilians who were peacefully demanding justice. In the wake of these events, conflict over Jammu and Kashmir between India and Pakistan has once again arisen. Unfortunately, SAARC is not playing its role in providing a platform for negotiation. The issue is escalating day-by-day. The UN and SAARC must take decisive steps and prevent resolve the Kashmir Issue.


Turbat, July 28.