VADODARA (India) (AFP) - Gautam Gambhir hit a second successive century as India crushed New Zealand by nine wickets in the third one-day international on Saturday to take an unassailable 3-0 lead in the series.The stand-in skipper hammered 16 fours in his unbeaten 126 off 117 balls to help India overhaul New Zealands 224-9 with 10.3 overs to spare in the one-sided encounter at the Reliance Stadium. Gambhir, leading the side in place of rested regular captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, had also starred in Indias eight-wicket win in the second one-day international in Jaipur, making an unbeaten 138 off 116 balls. The fourth game of the five-match series will be played in Bangalore on Tuesday. Gambhir carried his form in to the third game in Vadodara, adding 115 runs for the opening wicket with Murali Vijay and another 114 for the next with Virat Kohli (63 not out). Kohli also continued to torment the New Zealand bowlers with a breezy 70-ball knock containing six fours and two sixes, as New Zealand slumped to their eighth one-day defeat in a row. Gambhirs stroke-filled innings overshadowed a career-best 72 not out by New Zealands James Franklin who helped the Kiwis recover from a shaky 106-7 after the visitors were sent in to bat. Franklin hit five fours and a six in his 108-ball innings and shared 94 runs for the eighth wicket with Nathan McCullum (43) to lend respectability to New Zealands total. Left-arm paceman Zaheer Khan (2-31) had given India a flying start by striking twice inside the first 11 overs before spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Yusuf Pathan claimed two wickets each. Zaheer, playing his first game of the series, dismissed Brendon McCullum off the second ball of the innings when the opener edged tamely to Vijay at second slip. The in-form Martin Guptill (12) was run out following a direct hit from Gambhir before Zaheer returned to have Ross Taylor caught by Wriddhiman Saha behind the stumps. Yuvraj Singh snapped up a sharp, low catch to send back Scott Styris (22) while Pathan claimed the wickets of Daniel Vettori and Gareth Hopkins in successive overs to reduce the visitors to 106-7 by the 30th over. Franklin, who came in to bat with New Zealand struggling at 49-4, joined hands with Nathan McCullum to help the team add 68 valuable runs in the last 10 overs. SCOREBOARD NEW ZEALAND: M Guptill run out 12 B McCullum c Vijay b Zaheer 0 K Williamson lbw b Patel 21 R Taylor c Saha b Zaheer 4 S Styris c Yuvraj b Ashwin 22 J Franklin not out 72 D Vettori c Yuvraj b Pathan 3 G Hopkins c Yuvraj b Pathan 6 McCullum c Gambhir b Ashwin 43 K Mills run out 15 EXTRAS: (b1, lb10, w15) 26 TOTAL: (for 9 wkts; 50 overs) 224 Fall of wickets: 1-2 (B. McCullum), 2-19 (Guptill), 3-34 (Taylor), 4-49 (Williamson), 5-77 (Styris), 6-96 (Vettori), 7-106 (Hopkins), 8-200 (N. McCullum), 9-224 (Mills). BOWLING: Zaheer 8-2-31-2 (w4) Nehra 8-1-38-0 Patel 10-0-28-1 (w3) Ashwin 9-1-49-2 (w2) Pathan 8-0-27-2 (w5) Jadeja 7-0-40-0 (w1). INDIA: M Vijay run out 30 G Gambhir not out 126 V Kohli not out 63 EXTRAS: (lb5, w5) 10 TOTAL: (for one wkt; 39.3 overs) 229 Fall of wicket: 1-115 (Vijay). BOWLING: Mills 6-0-39-0 McKay 6.3-0-42-0 (w5) Franklin 4-0-34-0 Vettori 9-0-41-0 N McCullum 8-0-36-0 Styris 6-0-32-0. India won by nine wickets Toss: IndiaUmpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG), Shavir Tarapore (IND) TV umpire: Sanjay Hazare Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)