Dubai - Popular Pakistani and international wizards including Ali Zafar, Sean Paul, Mohib Mirza and Sanam Saeed made the colourful Pakistan Super League (PSL) inauguration ceremony more momentous with their sterling performances here at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Thursday night.

Before the ceremony, hip-hop and R&B sensation from Jamaica Sean Paul said he was optimistic about the success of the tournament. He said cricket and music have something in common to entertain people. “I have strong bond with cricket as I have played cricket in my school days and I wanted to become a fast bowler like Curtly Ambrose. But I am happy what I am today and my job is to entertain people. I hope we are having a very good series called the PSL.”

Pakistani star Ali Zafar also shared his views about the tournament saying, “I am unable to express my happiness that the PSL is going to happen at last. I feel honoured to be part of the project and hope to see a great contest during the series since Shahid Afridi and Chris Gayle are here to entertain us with fours and sixes.”

All franchises have a beautiful mix of foreign and local players. Hence exciting matches are expected especially traditional rivalry between Karachi and Lahore will be the talk of the town throughout the event.

In Lahore Qalandars, Gayle Storm, Dwyane Bravo, and Kevon Cooper will be in action against their rivals. However, cricket lovers will also witness Shane Watson, Andrew Russell, Misbah-ul-Haq, Boom Boom Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Kevin Peterson, Sarfraz Ahmed, Umer Gul, Shoaib Malik, Ravi Bopara and many other stars of cricket in different matches.

Former Pakistan cricketers Rameez Raja and Waseem Akram have been named as ambassadors for the PSL. The 21-day inaugural event is to be regulated by the ICC. The 2016 schedule comprises a double round robin and play offs format. Top four teams will progress to play offs.

There are five franchises featuring in the cricket league named after each provincial capital and the federal capital of Pakistan. The Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United will compete with each other to lift the trophy.

The inaugural edition of PSL was played between ‘Islamabad United’ and ‘Quetta Gladiators’ later yesternight.