Dubai - Led by wicket keeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed, Quetta Gladiators restricted Islamabad United to mediocre 128 for seven wickets in the inaugural match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) Twenty20 Tournament here at the Dubai International Stadium late on Thursday.

Skipper Misbah-ul-Haq and Andre Russell tried to resurrect the disappointing innings of Islamabad after they were reduced to 63 for 6 in the 15th over. Misbah however trapped by a slow bouncer by Anwar Ali in the penultimate over after scoring 41 in 28 balls. Russell remained not out on 35 off 20 balls. Rookie bowler M Nawaz took four wickets for only 13 runs in his quota of 4 overs. Anwar Ali, Zulfiqar Babar and Umar Gul shared a wicket each for the Gladiators.

Earlier, Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and invited Islamabad United skipper Misbah-ul-Haq to bat first. The two sides have a strong domestic contingent. As many as eight players from the set-up have played for Pakistan. Speaking at the toss Sarfraz said: “There is the dew factor, batting will be easier later. We want to field. Wright, KP, Chigumbura, Nabi are our overseas players.” Misbah on the occasion said: “It is all about posting a good total. We have four seamers. Shane Watson is batting well. He scored a hundred against India. It is a good balance. The opening ceremony was really wonderful”.

Quetta Gladiators team consists of Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), KP Pietersen, LJ Wright, E Chigumbura, Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Umar Gul, Zulfiqar Babar, M Nawaz (3), M Nabi and Akbar-ur-Rehman while Islamabad United comprises Shane Watson, Sharjeel Khan, Umar Amin, Babar Azam, SW Billings, Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), AD Russell, S Badree, M Irfan and Rumman Raees.



SR Watson b M Nawaz 15

Sharjeel Khan c M Nabi b Zulfiqar 10

Umar Amin c Wright b Umar Gul 0

Babar Azam c M Nabi b M Nawaz 15

SW Billings b M Nawaz 2

Misbah-ul-Haq c Umar Gul b Anwar Ali 41

Imran Khalid c M Nabi b M Nawaz 4

AD Russell not out 35

S Badree not out 2

EXTRAS: (w 4) 4

TOTAL: (7 wickets; 20 overs) 128

FOW: 1-21, 2-24, 3-28, 4-32, 5-56, 6-63, 7-120.

BOWLING: Anwar Ali 3-1-21-1, Zulfiqar Babar 4-0-36-1, M Nabi 4-0-20-0, Umar Gul 3-0-30-1, M Nawaz (3) 4-0-13-4, Akbar-ur-Rehman 2-0-8-0.

TOSS: Quetta Gladiators

UMPIRES: Shozab Raza, JS Wilson

TV UMPIRE: Rashid Riaz


RESERVE UMPIRE: Khalid Mahmood