Rawalpindi - Two police officers were demoted and service duration of four others were forfeited for holding faulty investigation and not resolving dacoity and murder cases.

According to details, Regional Police Officer (RPO) Wisal Fakhar Sultan Raja demoted two sub-inspectors Rislat Hussain and Lahl Khan to the rank of assistant sub-inspectors (ASIs) for not arresting the killers in a murder case and tracing dacoits in another case respectively.

The two year service of Inspector/SHO Malik Allah Yar was also forfeited by the RPO for showing poor performance as SHO Police Station Waris Khan while the same departmental punishment was awarded to SI Inayat Hussain by the RPO.

Similarly, two year service of two other police officers ASI Nadim Akhtar and ASI Iftikhar Ahmed was forfeited by regional police chief for holding wrong inquiry in the cases at Police Station New Town.

The RPO directed SP Legal to hold inquiry against Inspector Nasir Jamal Shah and ASI Ijaz Ahmed for launching faulty investigation in a case.

Wisal Fakhar also ordered transfer of Inspector Muhammad Aslam from Attock to Rawalpindi district.