Islamabad-Following announcement of schedule of Senate elections in the provinces, the Election Commission on Sunday issued polling schedule for the two Senate seats from Islamabad.

The EC is yet to announce a schedule for elections of senators from Federally Administrated Tribal Areas (FATA).

According to the ECP, polling to elect legislators for upper house of the Parliament will be held on March 3. Nomination papers for Senate elections in Islamabad could be submitted till February 10 and scrutiny of the nomination papers will be conducted on February 13.

Moreover, the contestants could file appeals against the returning officer’s decision on February 16, after the final list of nominees.

On Saturday, the returning officers issued public notices inviting nomination papers in the provinces. The ECP will be accepting submission of the nomination papers till Tuesday, February 6. The scrutiny process for nominations from the provinces is to be completed by Feb 9 and final list of contestants will be issued on Feb 15, following which the contestants could withdraw their nomination papers till February 16.

The Senate comprises 104 members, 23 each from the four provinces, eight from Fata and four from Islamabad. The 23 seats include 14 general seats, 4 each reserved for women and technocrats and one for minorities.

Pakistan People’s Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz have invited applications for the elections.

Those who are set to bid adieu to the Upper House are 12 each from Punjab and Sindh, 11 each from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, 2 from Islamabad and 4 from the Fata, who will retire on March 11. Prominent among those who will retire include Senate Chairman Mian Raza Rabbani, Ishaq Dar, Leader of the Opposition Aitzaz Ahsan, Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Farhatullah Babar, Azam Swati, Kamran Michael, Shahi Syed, Kamil Ali Agha, Talha Mehmood, Tahir Hussain Mashhadi, Nasreen Jalil and Ilyas Bilour.